Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Great just the way it is. Don't put all the milk in at once. I like my mashed potatoes a little drier than some people and with a little extra pepper. Then with some good gravy over the top...mmmmm...perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Like the recipe says, basic mashed potatoes. Can't go wrong with that. I'm a southern girl so I add a good bit more butter to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Thanks this recipe was quick and simple to make. I added cheese and garlic for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
So easy to make. Followed the directions exactly. Love a mashed potatoes meal that doesn't have a page full of ingreadients. Might try adding some garlic...but either way it is a fantastice recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good and very simple. The 1 cup of milk may seem, initially, to be too much but after folding the milk into the mashed potato mix, it will incorporate nicely and give a smooth texture to the mashed potato. With that much milk though, this recipe is not ideal for 'next day potato'.... i.e. should be eaten right away. Thanks and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Exactly how I make my potatoes ... only I don't use an electric mixer, since they come out gummy when I do. I hand mash the potatoes, then stir in the melted butter & milk. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I was planning on making a different mashed potato recipe from this site, but my mom beat me to it and made mashed potatoes how she always makes them, basic and simple. Went very well with what we served it with, "Slow Cooker Cassoulet" from this site. I like basic mashed potatoes, reminds me of my child hood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Thank you for posting this recipe, i'd never made mashed potatoes and these we're really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was really great. I needed a basic recipe for my "basic" guys. They loved it. Thanks. This site doesn't need to be all about the fancy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious!!! Simple and easy, I have never though of warming up the milk and butter. Thanks Esmee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States