Basic Margarita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I use the same ingregents but different portions. I use 1 can (12 oz) limeaid; then just use the limeaid can and use 1/2 can water; 1/2- to 3/4 can tequila (depending on how strong you want it); 1/2 can triple sec and mix well. Then just pour over ice for an 'on-the-rocks' drink. If you want to make this really extra special - to each glass add a shot of ammerento (sp) - WOW this is super. If you want it frozen leave out the water, mix in blender and add ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
If you read the description it says to add your favorite fruit, I had 2 super ripe mangoes, some I diced those up, and just used 1/2 can of the limeade, it was delicious!! I was just looking for a basic recipe as I tend to add too much booze or too much ice usually, it was perfect, restaurant quality... in fact i think I might go mix another up with some strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
by far the best margs! no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
My niece whipped this up at a party last night, and it was sublime! I like the pleasant tartness of the limeade - it kept the cocktail from being too sweet and syrupy... However, adding frozen fruit to the mix would make it the 5 Star Drink of the Year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I have used these ingredients for margaritas for many years but with different proportions. Try 6 oz. limeade, 6 oz. tequila, 3-4 oz. orange liqeur (controls sweetness), fill the blender with ice. This makes it less sour. Ice can be replaced with frozen strawberries or frozen mango to make a fruity sweet frozen margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I don't like lime so instead I used a can of frozen mango juice and once I had blended everything together and poured it into my glass, I added a little bit of cherry juice on top of the drink. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daysland, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I agree-too much limeade. I like margaritas that are tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I still like the original recipe. Great drink !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
One can of limeade is enough for us. Try this for a change: replace the tequila with rum and add some Grand Mariner; GranGala is just as good and costs much less. We don't care very much for tequila, but love lime so we experimented. Hope you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
The limeade really gives this a nice kick. I only used one 12 oz can of limeade and added 20 oz of frozen strawberries, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

How to Make a Margarita

See how to make the best homemade margaritas.

Jalapeno and Cucumber Margarita

Spicy & refreshing, this amazing marg’s infused with hot pepper & cool cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States