Basic Margarita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I use the same ingregents but different portions. I use 1 can (12 oz) limeaid; then just use the limeaid can and use 1/2 can water; 1/2- to 3/4 can tequila (depending on how strong you want it); 1/2 can triple sec and mix well. Then just pour over ice for an 'on-the-rocks' drink. If you want to make this really extra special - to each glass add a shot of ammerento (sp) - WOW this is super. If you want it frozen leave out the water, mix in blender and add ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
If you read the description it says to add your favorite fruit, I had 2 super ripe mangoes, some I diced those up, and just used 1/2 can of the limeade, it was delicious!! I was just looking for a basic recipe as I tend to add too much booze or too much ice usually, it was perfect, restaurant quality... in fact i think I might go mix another up with some strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
by far the best margs! no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
My niece whipped this up at a party last night, and it was sublime! I like the pleasant tartness of the limeade - it kept the cocktail from being too sweet and syrupy... However, adding frozen fruit to the mix would make it the 5 Star Drink of the Year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I have used these ingredients for margaritas for many years but with different proportions. Try 6 oz. limeade, 6 oz. tequila, 3-4 oz. orange liqeur (controls sweetness), fill the blender with ice. This makes it less sour. Ice can be replaced with frozen strawberries or frozen mango to make a fruity sweet frozen margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I don't like lime so instead I used a can of frozen mango juice and once I had blended everything together and poured it into my glass, I added a little bit of cherry juice on top of the drink. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daysland, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I agree-too much limeade. I like margaritas that are tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I still like the original recipe. Great drink !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
One can of limeade is enough for us. Try this for a change: replace the tequila with rum and add some Grand Mariner; GranGala is just as good and costs much less. We don't care very much for tequila, but love lime so we experimented. Hope you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
The limeade really gives this a nice kick. I only used one 12 oz can of limeade and added 20 oz of frozen strawberries, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

How to Make a Margarita

See how to make the best homemade margaritas.

Jalapeno and Cucumber Margarita

Spicy & refreshing, this amazing marg’s infused with hot pepper & cool cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States