Basic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This is an excellent recipe for basic hummus. It's very easy to add other ingredients if you want to try different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This is super quick and easy, and great for dipping veggies in. I reduced the oil to 1 tbsp. and used 4 cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This is a good recipe for hummus, but is even better when you toast the sesame seeds in a dry skillet until they pop, puree with the olive oil to make a drizzly paste, then add the rest of the stuff. I like to coat the top with olive oil and serve with toasted pita. Yummy! And good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This is an excellent recipe for basic hummus. Simple to make and delicious, it is sure to please event he most discriminating tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I needed to add a lot of liquid to this to get it smooth enough, including lemon juice which is definitely needed for an authentic flavour. Unfortunately, though, I think I used too much of the sesame seeds and I toasted them a bit too much as well, because the sesame taste was really overpowering. So watch out for that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Great as is or add ground corriander and cayenne to taste and this is something that is delicious and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I will never buy commercial hummus again...This is a fab recipe and so easy to make.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Better than what I've bought in stores and easy to make even though I had to start with more of the reserved liquid than initially called for to blend easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This is delicious, I did not add the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
VERY SIMPLE recipe!! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States