Basic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I would give the recipe less stars except I have to take some of the blame myself. The garlic was too mild after cooking it and the beans didn't all get to the right consistency with the processor I was using. I couldn't get the right taste with the salt and pepper. I actually dumped it and had to buy store bought for the luncheon. If I try this again I will smash and chop the garlic real fine and add it raw. And instead of the liquid from the beans, I'll use the olive oil directly in the mix along with lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I am giving this recipe three stars, mostly because of my own silly blender. In order to work at all well the blender needs a certain amount of water always inside. The hummus came out with the consistancy of mashed potatoes (lol) but it was a good recipe. Once I find my food processor, I plan on making it correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
mmmmmm!! this is perfect!! i added 1 Tbs of smart balance sour cream. it was exactly the taste i was looking for. i didn't have a lemon so this was perfect!! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Yum!! So good, so easy. I didn't have sesame seeds on hand, so I used about a tablespoon of sesame seed oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This ended up a big clump in the bottom of my blender, I couldn't add enough liquid to soften it. I had to toss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was so easy and I will make it often. I cooked my beans till they were soft, the last recipe i tryed the hummus was lumpy. I only used 1 Tsb of oil and it was plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a good recipe for very basic hummus! You kinda have to build up from there though. Add lemon juice to your liking and I like to add lots of toasted sesame seeds and garlic too. Serve warm with a little bit of extra virgin olive oil and fresh pita bread. Or dip raw cauliflower florets into it as well. Super delicious & GOOD FOR YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was really good!! I use 6 tablespoons of lemon juice like another reviewer said. I used 3 tablespoons of minced garlic,1 tsp of cumin, 2 tablespoons of roasted sesame seeds, 1 tablespoon of paprika, and I used all the juice that was reserved. Of course the high calorie hummus from the store is going to taste better, but for just a few calories this is really good :) It says basic in the title so it shouldn't come with whistles and bells. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spookei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
The first time I made this it was a HUGE hit! I added a Tablespoon of lemon juice and another clove (or two) of garlic with a dash of garlic powder. It was perfect. My friends all asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was wonderful! If I had known making my own hummus was this easy I'd have been doing it a long time ago! I skipped the sesame seeds but followed everything else to a tee. I used this for the Hummus Casserole recipe off this site---Yummmmmy! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States