Basic Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This was the first hummus recipe I've ever made, and it gave me a good starting point. However, I didn't rate it highly because I felt like I had to add so much to the original recipe. Here's what I did: -sautee sesame seeds with garlic -double minced garlic and add 1/2 tsp. powdered garlic -add 1/4 c. lemon juice -add 1/2 c. reserve (after the tsp.) -add 1/2 cup roasted red bell pepper (from a jar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I tried adding everything i could think of to it, and it just didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUERILLAMILK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was the first time I tried making hummus at home. Loved it!! Yes, it was a little plain - but it was a BASIC recipe. You can definitely use this one and add whatever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I usually make the Hummus III recipe (which is excellent), but I was out of tahini and went looking for a different recipe without tahini. This one just didn't measure up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Honestly, I thought this needed much more liquid than called for- I think the recipe should call for more like 1/4 cup and then add more as needed beyond that amount. The blender just wouldn't move anything around until we got to about the 1/4 cup mark, and was still too thick after that. We thought this needed a bit more of a tang, too. If I were to make it again, I might add some lemon juice. Don't think we'll be making it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I was disappointed by this very thick hummus. I added plenty of extra lemon juice make it 'dippable'. Perhaps it is a little too simple to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I added a red pepper to this, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
VERY SIMPLE recipe!! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This is delicious, I did not add the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I am sorry this was not what I was expecting at all. My husband and I love hummus and we did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States