Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I thought this was an average soup. Not a lot of flavor so I had to add a lot of chicken base w/it(I wish I had ham base, would've made it much better). Didn't wow me, I won't make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Really tasty soup but waaaaay too many beans. I used half the amount of beans, much better the second time around. Secondly, I used 1/2 chicken stock, 1/2 water. Thirdly, I cooked and then chilled the soup in the fridge overnight, and skimmed the fat off the next morning. Ham is quite fatty, and I pulled a LOT of fat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
As with the recommendations of previous posters, i soaked my beans over night in the 8 cups of water. drained and then used 8cups of chicken broth to cook with the beans....... did everything else by the recipe. OMG!!! very flavorful and rich bean soup!! best i ever had!!! only gave it 4 stars because i had altered it a bit... but with alterations 5+ stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made this for the church community and it was a big hit. I followed the recipe as is. I added a little cummin for more of a smoky flavor. Several people want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Rucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
It was very tasty. I did add ketchup because...well thats how we ate it growing up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was a great basic recipe. I'm a huge white bean fan but had never once made them from dry. It was a cinch! After the 60 minutes of soaking, I returned the beans to a boil, added the remaining ingredients and left in my slow cooker for several hours on low. The carrots were tender, the celery and onions were perfect. Kids and hubby loved. I did add a teaspoon of italian seasoning which gave a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My husband and two children raved about this recipe. Normally one of my children will like a recipe and the other will give it a "thumbs down," but not in this case! Yea! It will go on the "Kids Like List." I followed the recipe with these alterations: 6 cups homemade chicken broth instead of the water; one tsp. chicken broth base instead of the salt; and one ham bone left over from Easter instead of the ham hock. Oh, I also used a homemade batch of mixed dried beans instead of just the Great Northern. I soaked them overnight in my slowcooker, drained and rinsed them and then cooked the soup for about 8 hours on low. I will definitely make this again and will probably use it for my freezer meal exchanges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is just what the name says - a great "basic ham and bean soup". I added more beans and definitely upped the seasonings, but this recipe provides a great place to start. I also did the traditional overnight soak, so I can't comment on that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Perfect, the mustard is key. Otherwise, this is basic. However, less is more sometimes. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States