Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was very good. I did soak the beans, discard the water and use 6 cups of chicken broth. Made the rest the same and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Splendid and cherished recipe! I've been looking for my mother's recipe for this for ages--all her recipes were in her head and were lost after her passing. I've never adequately recreated it at home. Now I realize it's that mustard powder which finesses it--I'd never have thought to add that ingredient. It's a wonderful soup. Thank you for restoring a precious memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
We loved the soup. I followed the recipe exactly except I soaked my beans overnight and rinsed the beans out well, used a meaty ham bone, omitted the salt, decreased the water to 7 cups, and put in 4 chicken buillon cubes. I cooked it in the crockpot for 10 hrs and took out the bone and cut the meat and put the ham back in the pot. It was very flavorful and the beans were nice and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
used a brown sugar smoked ham which made it too sweet for my taste. Added tomato paste and green chilies, but was still too sweet -- kinda like canned pork and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Turned out perfectly! My family loved it. I did add a touch of Frank's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Yum! Great way to use the Easter ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeybunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I can only give this three stars because although what I ended up with was good, I followed other users suggestions. Use fresh water after you soak the beans and only 6-1/2 Cups. I also thought it was a little bland. You might want to spice it up a bit. I'll try it again with some more alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The soup itself tasted pretty good, but it ravaged my husband and I's tummy for more than a day after eating it. I guess dried northern beans are one bean we need to stay away from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Great basic soup recipe. I covered the pot after I turned off the heat. After the 60 min soak I poured out half the water and replaced it with chicken broth. The only other change was some extra mustard powder and a little thyme. Great soup, hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forestville, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States