Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was SO yummy! I cannot understand how other reviewers find this bland--this was SO flavorful and I even forgot to add the mustard powder (oops!). I used the leftover ham bone from our Christmas brunch (I used the Tangy Honey Glazed Ham recipe from this site); it made for a scrumptious soup! I'd never cooked dried beans before and this turned out great. I did add cooking time to every step; I had a lot to do around the house and figured the extra time couldn't hurt. I did mash some beans and add a potato to thicken it up. Next time around (and there WILL be a next time) I'll try some of the tips for de-gassing the beans. ;-) Even so, this soup's flavor makes it totally worth the burpy aftermath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Good flavor, but way too many beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Good basic recipe with lots of room for individualizing. I used an immersion blender that gave the base, including the beans and ham, a thick texture, then added more ham and more beans for "chunkiness." I only make this soup about once a year because my husband's not a soup lover, but I'm holding onto this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I thought this was an average soup. Not a lot of flavor so I had to add a lot of chicken base w/it(I wish I had ham base, would've made it much better). Didn't wow me, I won't make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Really tasty soup but waaaaay too many beans. I used half the amount of beans, much better the second time around. Secondly, I used 1/2 chicken stock, 1/2 water. Thirdly, I cooked and then chilled the soup in the fridge overnight, and skimmed the fat off the next morning. Ham is quite fatty, and I pulled a LOT of fat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
As with the recommendations of previous posters, i soaked my beans over night in the 8 cups of water. drained and then used 8cups of chicken broth to cook with the beans....... did everything else by the recipe. OMG!!! very flavorful and rich bean soup!! best i ever had!!! only gave it 4 stars because i had altered it a bit... but with alterations 5+ stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made this for the church community and it was a big hit. I followed the recipe as is. I added a little cummin for more of a smoky flavor. Several people want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Rucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
It was very tasty. I did add ketchup because...well thats how we ate it growing up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was a great basic recipe. I'm a huge white bean fan but had never once made them from dry. It was a cinch! After the 60 minutes of soaking, I returned the beans to a boil, added the remaining ingredients and left in my slow cooker for several hours on low. The carrots were tender, the celery and onions were perfect. Kids and hubby loved. I did add a teaspoon of italian seasoning which gave a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States