Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I used a "bean mix" that I let soak overnight instead of just great Nothern, otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. The beans took over two hours to cook, it was terribly bland and watery and not very good. Don't know what I got wrong, but won't attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A nice solid soup. I soaked the beans overnight in the unheated crockpot. In the morning I drained them, put in fresh water and the turned the heat on with the ham hock and seasonings. It stewed all day and was very yummy. I did add extra carrots because we can never have too many veggies. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I tried this , it is pretty well the same way I make it. However, this recipe calls for mustard powder. I added 1/2 of what it called for and it is very very overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is good soup but it really needs a couple tsp. of chicken bouillon or cubes to give it a nice broth flavor...not too much though since the ham is salty. Came together nicely though...great served with a piece of homemade cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Until I tried this recipe, I didn't think I could make a good bean/ham soup. I used vegetable broth instead of water to simmer the beans. Altough I did not keep the bone, as I should have, it was still very good. Don't put in more white pepper until after you taste it. I added about 1/4 tsp. after about 2 hours because I could not smell it, but it was there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was most excellent. With that said...I followed a few others comments. I soaked my beans overnight. I also used about a cup or more of each vegetable...carrot, onion and celery. I did my cut prep work the night before...so I put the beans along with 8 cups of veggie stock (my Dad doesn't like chicken) and all the veggies (minus bay leaves...Dad doesn't like that either :-) in a crock pot on low for 8 hours the next morning. I got home and took my hand mixer and mixed some of the soup so it would have a thicker consistency. I made homemade cornbread and honey butter to go on top. This was a perfect meal for a cool evening. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silvis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
It was a bit bland. Perhaps using broth rather than water would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very tasty, and I am not usually a fan of soups. After reading reviews made the following adjustments: 1. soaked beans for 6 hours, then discarded soak water and made soup with fresh. 2. used 6 cups of liquid (1 can low sodium chicken stock, the rest water). 3. used leftover bone with meat from a honey ham. 4. Added NO salt 5. combined all ingredients into crock pot and cooked for 10 hours on low (overnight). 6. pureed about 1 cup of the beans and some of the broth, and combined back into pot. RESULTS: beans were breaking down - cooked too long. Otherwise it is amazing. glad I added the chicken stock instead of all water, but did not add any salt. I love the "extra" flavor of the honey ham - that flavor, along with pureeing the beans, makes it look/taste very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is the best soup recipe I've ever tried. I followed the recipe exactly and the broth and flavor was amazing. I was so tired of split green peas and ham soup (gets too thick) and made this today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Just made this today. Delicious, followed the recipe as written. Not necessary to soak beans overnight or boil bones longer as I read in other comments. Beans are tender and ham flavour is wonderfully infused with the times and instructions provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States