Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Used 15.5 oz canned great northern beans and 29 oz chicken broth. Added that to step #2 in pot and simmered 60 minutes. Delish! I am so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I substituted 6 cups of chicken stock for 6 cups of water. I also don't love the smell of white pepper, so I used black pepper. Also waited to add the salt until the end because of concerns about making the beans tougher and overwhelming the salt because of the ham added later. I did the quick soak method for the beans and cooked them a bit longer than described and it was fine. I often forget to soak the beans until the next day when I want to eat them. This soup is a wonderful meal when served with some warm bread and a fresh salad. I did the traditional spinach salad for this dinner."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a good base recipe to add spices to increase or develop the flavors we like. I used homemade chicken broth instead of water, didn't have enough carrot, so I used a parsnip to make up the difference. Soaked my beans overnight the old fashioned way...more economical and I can control the sodium that way. Smashed 1/2 of the beans at the end of cooking to thicken the soup. Very good on this cold winter day! Homemade corn muffins were a nice accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I loved it simple dish. I made this without ham hock. I used just the two cups of chopped ham.I used a 32 oz jar of great northern beans and used a 32oz box of low sodium chicken stock instead of the water otherwise followed the recipe the same very delicious thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I just made this recipe for New Year's Day. I did a few variations. I had a ham bone from a Christmas spiral ham. I put it in the crock pot overnight to make my own stock. I used canned beans for simplicity sake...they were great and I added a head of cabbage because I LOVE CABBAGE. I also did not have to add the mustard because my left over ham was glazed with it.... This soup was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Followed recipe to a T and ended up having to add beef bouillon (because that's all I had on hand) and the beans were still crunchy. I didn't read any of the other reviews because all I saw were 5 stars and figured it must be a good recipe. Highly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiggerpooh
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It was easy and very tasty we didn't put in any carrots or celery. We did make some steamed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I was excited about this recipe with all the great reviews. .. while it wasn't a bad pot of soup- my husband and I both found it very bland. This was after I had increased the mustard onion and garlic :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great recipe. Very easy to make and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Wanting to do something with a leftover ham bone, I tried this soup, making a few changes. First, I cooked the onion, garlic & celery (increased to 2 stalks) in some olive oil. Put it in a crock pot & added a packet of Vigo seasoning, which made the color & flavor richer. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookincarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States