Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this soup today and it is great. I was looking for a recipe like my dad always made for us at home. I cooked two ham hocks and used the broth to soak the beans overnight using 9 cups of the broth. Simmered it for 2 hours and I will say this is one of the best soups my wife and I have ever tasted. Thank you for the recipe and for the great memories of my Dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly. Wonderful, I'm replacing my old recipe with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Excellent and freezes well. I didn't have a ham bone or ham hocks, so I just added a tablespoon of chicken "Better than Bouillion" paste. I didn't find 8 cups to be too much water -- maybe others cook the beans covered that will keep them thinner. Toward the end I mash about a cup of the beans (same as I do for red beans). The cooking time was longer - even after an overnight soak I simmered them for about 4 hours. Kept some for immediate and froze a couple of containers for future lunches. Thanks for the tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I liked it but I think a little more beans would be/would have been better. I used spiral ham(brown sugar glazed) so it was a bit sweet which didn't go quite well in this recipe but I think it would be/have been really good with the regular ham. I'll definitely try this recipe again with more beans and regular ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've never tried ham and bean soup but for some reason this caught my eye. I like the flavor of bay leaves. I soaked the beans overnight so I skipped step one. I absolutely loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Great basic recipe. I had pork leg available (these meat available in Asian food markets), sautéed meat with onions and garlic in a pot, salted to taste, then added 6 cups water, let it boil, then put all ingredients in slow cooker for 4 hours on high. Husband couldn't find dried northern beans so bought canned northern beans instead, so I drained the beans, after 4 hours in slow cooker, added the beans, and let cook on slow cooker on low for another hour....taste yummy with rice (I'm Asian ...gotta have my rice!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great recipe. I used 7 cups of water, didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This recipe was wonderful. I did add chicken boullion cubes for a little more flavor but it made a big difference. Doubled carrots and celery for more veggies. A wonderful recipe that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Used 15.5 oz canned great northern beans and 29 oz chicken broth. Added that to step #2 in pot and simmered 60 minutes. Delish! I am so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States