Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I used a bag of 15 bean soup mix, minus the season packet, and used the quick cook method instead of soaking. I cooked the ham bone in with the beans the entire time. Didn't have mustard powder, so used a few table spoons of spicy brown bottled mustard. The flavor was a little flat for my taste, so I added several large spoon fulls of pan drippings from the cooked ham and a few shakes of smoked paprika and POW!! KILLER flavor!! This is definitely the best pot of beans I have made in years with just a few minor tweeks to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Used this recipe as a base to cook the ham hock left over from Christmas dinner. Substituted chicken stock for half the water and dijon mustard for mustard powder. Did not add salt or bay leaf. Put a little ketchup in, which worked nicely with the glaze seasonings that came out of the ham. Excellent with corn bread. Followed advice of others and pureed a portion to add more body. Very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The best trick with a soup like this is to puree a couple of cups of the soup at the end to make a thicker mixture that still has plenty of whole beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely as regards amounts, but 'adapted' the procedure. I soaked the beans overnight (1 lb navy beans, 1 lb baby lima beans). Well yes, that's twice as many but I was doubling the recipe because I was using the leftovers and hambone from the Christmas ham. The dry mustard surprised me. I held off adding it until the broth was hot, then tasted it, and then added the mustard powder. It did add just the right amount of additional positive flavor. Perhaps the most useful observation is how much better dried beans are. I would tend to describe canned beans as 'mushy,' but the dried beans are best described as 'creamy.' I guess this 70 year old 'dog' can learn new tricks. In short, this soup is hearty, delicious, and more importantly, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justchaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Adamsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Super easy and tasty. I added some extra spices and more carrots and celery. Great way to use the ham bone with its special flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ffffsteph
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was amazing! I tried it with the beans whole, but then took a hand masher and mashed the soup in the pot for a bit and thought it was even better that way. I also soaked them overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Made twice and my kids and husband raved both times. Subbed 4 cups of stock per other reviewers' advice, but otherwise kept to the recipe. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I basically combined this recipe and another that I found online that was quite similar. Here’s what I did. I soaked the beans overnight. I used 7 1/2 cups of chicken broth, no water, a ham shank and one cup each of the carrots, celery and onions. I used all of the other ingredients except the additional chopped ham. My ham shank had quite a bit of ham on it, which was plenty. I started by sauteeing the carrots, celery and onions in about 3 T. of butter and then added the rest of the ingredients, except the salt. I kept this at a low simmer for 3 - 3 1/2 hours. I simmered covered for the first 2 1/2 hours and then took the lid off so it would cook down and get a little thicker. My version yielded 9 cups of soup. Hubs loves bean soup and gave this two thumbs up! A definite do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was fabulous! My husband had seconds. I took the advice of one review using 8 cups of chicken broth instead of water. We added diced potatoes along with other veggies. I also let the beans soak overnight. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Macken-West
Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I added cubed potatoes to mine and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States