Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Excellent and freezes well. I didn't have a ham bone or ham hocks, so I just added a tablespoon of chicken "Better than Bouillion" paste. I didn't find 8 cups to be too much water -- maybe others cook the beans covered that will keep them thinner. Toward the end I mash about a cup of the beans (same as I do for red beans). The cooking time was longer - even after an overnight soak I simmered them for about 4 hours. Kept some for immediate and froze a couple of containers for future lunches. Thanks for the tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I liked it but I think a little more beans would be/would have been better. I used spiral ham(brown sugar glazed) so it was a bit sweet which didn't go quite well in this recipe but I think it would be/have been really good with the regular ham. I'll definitely try this recipe again with more beans and regular ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've never tried ham and bean soup but for some reason this caught my eye. I like the flavor of bay leaves. I soaked the beans overnight so I skipped step one. I absolutely loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Great basic recipe. I had pork leg available (these meat available in Asian food markets), sautéed meat with onions and garlic in a pot, salted to taste, then added 6 cups water, let it boil, then put all ingredients in slow cooker for 4 hours on high. Husband couldn't find dried northern beans so bought canned northern beans instead, so I drained the beans, after 4 hours in slow cooker, added the beans, and let cook on slow cooker on low for another hour....taste yummy with rice (I'm Asian ...gotta have my rice!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great recipe. I used 7 cups of water, didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This recipe was wonderful. I did add chicken boullion cubes for a little more flavor but it made a big difference. Doubled carrots and celery for more veggies. A wonderful recipe that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Used 15.5 oz canned great northern beans and 29 oz chicken broth. Added that to step #2 in pot and simmered 60 minutes. Delish! I am so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I substituted 6 cups of chicken stock for 6 cups of water. I also don't love the smell of white pepper, so I used black pepper. Also waited to add the salt until the end because of concerns about making the beans tougher and overwhelming the salt because of the ham added later. I did the quick soak method for the beans and cooked them a bit longer than described and it was fine. I often forget to soak the beans until the next day when I want to eat them. This soup is a wonderful meal when served with some warm bread and a fresh salad. I did the traditional spinach salad for this dinner."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a good base recipe to add spices to increase or develop the flavors we like. I used homemade chicken broth instead of water, didn't have enough carrot, so I used a parsnip to make up the difference. Soaked my beans overnight the old fashioned way...more economical and I can control the sodium that way. Smashed 1/2 of the beans at the end of cooking to thicken the soup. Very good on this cold winter day! Homemade corn muffins were a nice accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States