Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have made this soup about 4 times now and it's the best. So flavorful. This one is a keeper and great for a cold winter weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frontier_man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcus, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Yum! Delicious recipe! Got a thumbs up from the whole family of picky eaters. I soaked beans about 5 hours, boiled and simmered another hour and threw in the crockpot for 8 hours with seasoning veggies, and leftover bone from a spiral cut ham. this gave it a thick consistancy but that was fine! Very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Amazing. Easy. Soak your beans over night and you can skip the first step of boiling your beans for 60 minutes prior to beginning the 60 minute simmer with the ham hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe.. I dont lessen the water, but I do add 2 potatoes (diced) towards the end of cooking to help give it a little starch and thicken it to more of a stew. I am not a celery fan, so I use 1 tsp celery seed in place of celery. If you have a good meaty ham hock you dont need to add any more ham! YUM. good comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WMPROS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this soup after reading some of the reviews posted. I made mine in a 12 quart pot, I used 8 cups of water plus chick broth. I also pureed an amount which made the soup thicker. I added whole cloves and more garlic and onions to mine. It looks and smells great! I love this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista DeMoss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
The whole family loved this! I didn't have time to soak the beans, so I used 3 cans of beans drained Maybe next time I'll experiment with adding other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
My kids ate this more than most soups, and I liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I looked up this recipe last night, I read all the reviews, I used the suggest too use chicken broth and I'm very glad I did it gave this soup lots of flavor, I cooked the beans in water for 60 mins. Then poured that water out, then put the chicken broth in pan bought it to a boil then added beans, ham bone and the rest of the ingredients and simmer for 1 1/2hours This came out so good ( this is the first time I have ever made this) so easy, I would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I love this recipe! It is best if made the day before or cooked in the crockpot. Even the grandkids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Hubby thought it was great. I thought it was okay. Kids didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 111-120 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States