Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Splendid and cherished recipe! I've been looking for my mother's recipe for this for ages--all her recipes were in her head and were lost after her passing. I've never adequately recreated it at home. Now I realize it's that mustard powder which finesses it--I'd never have thought to add that ingredient. It's a wonderful soup. Thank you for restoring a precious memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
We loved the soup. I followed the recipe exactly except I soaked my beans overnight and rinsed the beans out well, used a meaty ham bone, omitted the salt, decreased the water to 7 cups, and put in 4 chicken buillon cubes. I cooked it in the crockpot for 10 hrs and took out the bone and cut the meat and put the ham back in the pot. It was very flavorful and the beans were nice and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
used a brown sugar smoked ham which made it too sweet for my taste. Added tomato paste and green chilies, but was still too sweet -- kinda like canned pork and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Turned out perfectly! My family loved it. I did add a touch of Frank's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Yum! Great way to use the Easter ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I can only give this three stars because although what I ended up with was good, I followed other users suggestions. Use fresh water after you soak the beans and only 6-1/2 Cups. I also thought it was a little bland. You might want to spice it up a bit. I'll try it again with some more alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The soup itself tasted pretty good, but it ravaged my husband and I's tummy for more than a day after eating it. I guess dried northern beans are one bean we need to stay away from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Great basic soup recipe. I covered the pot after I turned off the heat. After the 60 min soak I poured out half the water and replaced it with chicken broth. The only other change was some extra mustard powder and a little thyme. Great soup, hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forestville, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Took other suggestions .. used 2 cans chicken broth, added water to make 6 cups. Didn't have a ham hock but it didn't seem to need it for flavor (though I did have to add a little bit of salt to compensate). Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States