Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Yum! Great way to use the Easter ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I can only give this three stars because although what I ended up with was good, I followed other users suggestions. Use fresh water after you soak the beans and only 6-1/2 Cups. I also thought it was a little bland. You might want to spice it up a bit. I'll try it again with some more alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The soup itself tasted pretty good, but it ravaged my husband and I's tummy for more than a day after eating it. I guess dried northern beans are one bean we need to stay away from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Great basic soup recipe. I covered the pot after I turned off the heat. After the 60 min soak I poured out half the water and replaced it with chicken broth. The only other change was some extra mustard powder and a little thyme. Great soup, hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forestville, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Took other suggestions .. used 2 cans chicken broth, added water to make 6 cups. Didn't have a ham hock but it didn't seem to need it for flavor (though I did have to add a little bit of salt to compensate). Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This sounds like my soup, except to thicken the broth a little add 1 cup mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was very good! Only thing I did different was add the juice I saved from baking my ham - it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This soup was very good. I used the bone from my Christmas ham. I also used chicken stock instead of water, plus the beans that I bought had a packet of "ham flavor," so I used it, too. I also added extra carrots and celery. After sitting in the fridge overnight, the soup was quite thick, as the beans continued to absorb liquid. It was still very good, though, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Was excellent! I used leftover spiral ham bone with meat on it, added 4 chicken bouillon cubes and omitted bay leaves and mustard since I didn't have any plus I used 2 lbs of mixed dried beans. I quick soaked the beans for an hour and then rinsed off that water and used fresh water to cook the bean and soup. Best I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very good recipe. I don't usually change things up - not that brave. But I read reviews and did the following: 3 celery stalks 4 c water/ 4 c chicken broth I sauteed the onion, celery, garlic before adding. I also added a can of condensed milk - loved this addition. Made it more creamy, thickened it. I used the crock pot. PUt beans in the boiling water, let sit for an hour. Than cooked on high 4 hours, OPened up, took the meat off the bone. Cooked 3 more hours. Opened, added more ham and milk. Let cook about an hour more. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States