Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This is the second time that I've made this soup and my family loves it. I de-gassed the beans as one cook suggested (it works!) and reduced the liquid to 6 cups of chicken broth, no water, plus I puréed about three cups of the soup mixture for a creamier texture. I also added about two cups of chopped fresh kale at the end with the diced ham. The result -- a delicious hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Flynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I wanted to make ham and bean soup with a left over bone from a spiral cut ham. Last year my husband said the recipe I made was too salty, so I tried this recipe. After reading the reviews, I decided to leave out the salt. I didn't have mustard powder so I substituted 1 Tbsp. of prepared mustard. I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. My soup was thick. My husband said it needed salt (go figure). I would rather add salt than have too much. So I added extra water to each individual serving so the beans wouldn't soak up the water in the pot. My husband added salt to his and said it tasted good but thought it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This recipe is a good idea, but is quite bland. Follow the other reviews and make some adjustments: 1. Soak beans over night 2. Double the celery 3. ADD SPICES. I used oregeno, rosemary, and seasoning salt. The broth just tastes like water otherwise. 4. Puree 1/2 the soup after it's cooked and add it back in. It gives it a much creamer consistancy. With revisions, it's a quite tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I have tried this recipe and have found that you can use the beans that are already cooked and in a jar so you don't have to fool around with soaking them. Just strain the liquid and fill the jar three quarters of the way up and use that for your stock. I also use 6 strips of bacon to make it a little heartier. Most grocery stores have ham that is already presliced or cubed making this the easiest recipe there is with little to no effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
easy recipe to follow. i had difficulty finding ham hock. next time i may try without, seems unnecessarily fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is a great recipe! I like to mash some of the beans in the end to make it a little thicker, but not too many! I usually don't measure my vegetables 'cause you can't have too much. It is perfect with leftover ham and a great way to use a ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Loved it! I soaked the beans over night, I used a crockpot, and put in chicken broth instead of water and just enough to cover the meat and beans. It came out perfect! Wonderful over cornbread...mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I made this today and it was fantastic! I make mine in a crock pot. I DO NOT soak my beans first. I rinsed them then put them right in my crock with 8 cups of water and 5 Tbsp of chicken bouillon granules. I omitted the ground mustard and the salt (with the ham hock and chicken granules, it was plenty salty). Cooked it on high for six hours and it was perfect. We put a little ketchup in it (try it!), served it with salad and corn bread and it was quite a delicious winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Excellent Bean soup. Didn't change a thing and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James Bruder
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Turmed out great! Love this recipe, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Bruder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States