Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by James Bruder
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Turmed out great! Love this recipe, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Bruder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Good recipe but I always add more veggies. I also add a few teaspoons of Horseradish to my bean soups to give it just a boost of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Pretty good! I made my own stock by boiling the hambone and veggie ends for an hour + in the water. I was leery of the mustard, but it was subtle and quite nice. I liked this dish quite a bit, but I was the only one in the family to get seconds of it, hence the 4 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
this was amazing wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
soaked the beans overnight cooked in crock pot use chx broth instead of water no extra salt puree some of soup to make thicker Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Following the advice of a reviewer, I boiled the hambone for several hours and used that for my broth rather than using water or chicken broth. I also added a few dashes of hot sauce, which added flavor but not heat. Many reviewers write that additional salt was not needed. I think the addition of salt should be made on a case by case basis depending upon the ham used. I added salt at the end. Lastly, I did emulsify a few baked potatoes (skin removed) with some broth in order to thicken it. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Yummy! Made with water and drippings from cooking spiral ham. Used ham bone as well. Will try next time with more veggies, some potatoes, and maybe half & half to make this a cream-based soup/chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I used a bag of 15 bean soup mix, minus the season packet, and used the quick cook method instead of soaking. I cooked the ham bone in with the beans the entire time. Didn't have mustard powder, so used a few table spoons of spicy brown bottled mustard. The flavor was a little flat for my taste, so I added several large spoon fulls of pan drippings from the cooked ham and a few shakes of smoked paprika and POW!! KILLER flavor!! This is definitely the best pot of beans I have made in years with just a few minor tweeks to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Used this recipe as a base to cook the ham hock left over from Christmas dinner. Substituted chicken stock for half the water and dijon mustard for mustard powder. Did not add salt or bay leaf. Put a little ketchup in, which worked nicely with the glaze seasonings that came out of the ham. Excellent with corn bread. Followed advice of others and pureed a portion to add more body. Very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The best trick with a soup like this is to puree a couple of cups of the soup at the end to make a thicker mixture that still has plenty of whole beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States