Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have made this about 4 times so far and everyone loves it. I did use 4 cans of beans Instead of dry beans. Also, I took others advice and used 4 cups water and 4 cups chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very flavorful, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linders
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is so good I plan to use it for annual family cookie bake. Taste nothing like a cookie and flavorfully hardy also easy quick to pull together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Soaked the beans overnight, left out any added salt, used 6 cups of chicken broth instead of water. The end product was so salty - absolutely inedible! If I try this again I would use low sodium broth and no ham hocks or no ham. Those two ingredients added so much salt that what could have been a good soup is just being tossed. Also recommend halving the recipe unless you are cooking for twenty people Also good to purée some of the beans and broth and add back to the pot - otherwise the resulting broth is very watery. 8 cups of water would have been too much fluid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Made it but had to do some changes, we are Puertorricans and it was kind of bland for our taste. I added some sofrito, extra garlic,olive oil, cilantro and a sazon cube!!! It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
It's good I like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I followed some of commenter's suggestions and threw everything into the slow cooker after soaking the beans overnight. I didn't have any bay leaves and only added about half the salt. It turned out great. Plus, it made my whole house smell delicious! What a nice way to be greeted when I walked through the door. Perfect way to use up leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This recipe is good. I added just these minor changes. used a ham bone. Used a whole onion and also added two cut up slices of bacon and ham base. when you can't find the onion your soup is done. Simmered about five hours. The ham base was all the sodium i needed so didn't add any. After I took out the bone (most of the meat had fallen off) I cooled it and my Australian Shepherd had a fabulous and healthy chewy for himself. Kove this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Added Chicken broth which I think helped with the flavor and tweaked some of the other ingredients. I think I would try a different recipe for ham and bean soup next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States