Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
This was a very tasty soup. My husband loves bean soups and thought this one was great. Mine was very thick, I had to add some additional water the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
Very Good! Will definitely soak the beans overnight next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
Kids did not like it... but my husband and I did! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
wonderful, I substituted chicken broth for the ham hock and added cubed ham as in the recipe. Steve Crossley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
LOVED this recipe!!! Absolutely delicious. Will become one of my favorites. To speed up and simplify things a bit, I substituted a 48 oz jar of cooked Great Northern Beans plus 1 jar of water for the dry beans, 8 cups water and salt and proceeded with step 2. To help thicken the soup, I added a little flour to some broth to make a paste and then blended it into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
I thought this was a great soup! I was stumped as to what to do with this dang ham bone and this really had great flavor and was pretty painless! I used dried lima beans instead and subbed onion powder for chopped onion. I also prepared the beans according to package instructions instead. I think the mustard powder was a great flavor enhancer! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
This soup was magnificent!! I didn't change a thing. I'm just a beginner cook and it turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I used a left over spiral ham bone, boiled it for stock, let it sit overnite in order to skim off the fat. Then I started w/the beans in the ham stock and followed the recipe from there. I doubled the recipe and used baby limas and great northerns. I pureed the carrots, celery and onion so my kids wouldn't pick them out, but it still gave the soup every bit of nutrition and flavor. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is a great way to use left over ham and was liked very much by the whole family, even my 20 month old. I didn't add any extra salt as I think ham is pretty salty on its own. It was very easy to prepare and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This is a delicious recipe! I found it took longer to get the beans thoroughly softened but it was worth the wait. I served it with Waikiki Cornbread (recipe available on this site.) Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States