Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I always add a little tomato juice and some ketchup. I use half water and half chicken broth. I also add just a little cajun seasoning. Never add salt until done and then add if you need to. It always takes almost 2 hours to get it really tender. If you add some potato, it's the Senate version. I usually just add some instant potato flakes which also thickens it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Ah! White pepper & dry mustard give the kick created in this soup! I used a blend packet of 7 beans mixed and set in water over night then rinsed and set the slow cooker on 6hrs. I did not add carrots so I doubled the chopped celery, plenty for six heart bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Upper Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Amazing! I omitted the celery and carrots (not a fan) and it was so good. Like someone else said, it was even better the next day. Next time, I'll make it a day ahead. Making it in advance and refrigerating it also gives you the chance to skim off the fat before reheating...a little healthier. I didn't save any leftovers for my husband. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Hearty and delicious! Added 2 cups of chicken stock to this and everyone raved at how good it was. The ham hock was already salty, so I did not add any additional salt and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Yum! This was really good bean soup. I like a lot of vegetables in it so I added a diced potato and a handful of frozen green beans. I also give the pot of soup a healthy squeeze of ketsup to add to the flavor. Don't laugh, it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
this is my normal soup ,,,only i add smashed garlic also on top of the minced garlic it adds alot of flavor...also for my family potatoes is a must in this soup...they really add substance to the soup and help thicken it a bit...i normally dont add the powdered mustard but it does add a great dimension of flavor...thank you for that tidbit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent flavor, easy to make. I wasn't able to soak my beans overnight, so I put them in boiling water for 2 minutes then turned them off and let them sit for 1 hour, then continued with the recipe. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This soup turned out to be everything I hoped it would! Just had a bowl for lunch with some homemade bread and it was delicious. I made a few small changes: First, I soaked the beans overnight, then rinsed them. I had about 5 cups of homemade chicken stock on hand which I brought up to 8 cups by adding fresh water. Instead of a ham hock, I had two large ham bones I'd frozen after a couple of nice holiday dinners. I cooked the soup as directed in the recipe, just adding a couple tablespoons of brown sugar and a few sprinkles of cayenne pepper. After an hour of simmering, I removed the ham bones and cut off any meat that hadn't already fallen off. This gave me plenty of ham and I didn't need to add more. I also took out a couple of cups of the cooked beans to puree, then added them and the chopped ham back to the pot. Simmered another half hour, and everything was perfectly cooked. The result was a thick, rich, flavorful soup. Luckily, no one else in my family likes beans so I get to freeze this soup in single servings and enjoy quite a few hearty lunches in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
i love the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
REALLY GOOD!!!! As good as I remember mom's being, but different because I used pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States