Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My husband and two children raved about this recipe. Normally one of my children will like a recipe and the other will give it a "thumbs down," but not in this case! Yea! It will go on the "Kids Like List." I followed the recipe with these alterations: 6 cups homemade chicken broth instead of the water; one tsp. chicken broth base instead of the salt; and one ham bone left over from Easter instead of the ham hock. Oh, I also used a homemade batch of mixed dried beans instead of just the Great Northern. I soaked them overnight in my slowcooker, drained and rinsed them and then cooked the soup for about 8 hours on low. I will definitely make this again and will probably use it for my freezer meal exchanges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is just what the name says - a great "basic ham and bean soup". I added more beans and definitely upped the seasonings, but this recipe provides a great place to start. I also did the traditional overnight soak, so I can't comment on that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Perfect, the mustard is key. Otherwise, this is basic. However, less is more sometimes. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
SO good! (Substituted bacon for the ham hock)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was very good. I did soak the beans, discard the water and use 6 cups of chicken broth. Made the rest the same and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Splendid and cherished recipe! I've been looking for my mother's recipe for this for ages--all her recipes were in her head and were lost after her passing. I've never adequately recreated it at home. Now I realize it's that mustard powder which finesses it--I'd never have thought to add that ingredient. It's a wonderful soup. Thank you for restoring a precious memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
We loved the soup. I followed the recipe exactly except I soaked my beans overnight and rinsed the beans out well, used a meaty ham bone, omitted the salt, decreased the water to 7 cups, and put in 4 chicken buillon cubes. I cooked it in the crockpot for 10 hrs and took out the bone and cut the meat and put the ham back in the pot. It was very flavorful and the beans were nice and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
used a brown sugar smoked ham which made it too sweet for my taste. Added tomato paste and green chilies, but was still too sweet -- kinda like canned pork and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Turned out perfectly! My family loved it. I did add a touch of Frank's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States