Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A nice solid soup. I soaked the beans overnight in the unheated crockpot. In the morning I drained them, put in fresh water and the turned the heat on with the ham hock and seasonings. It stewed all day and was very yummy. I did add extra carrots because we can never have too many veggies. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I tried this , it is pretty well the same way I make it. However, this recipe calls for mustard powder. I added 1/2 of what it called for and it is very very overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is good soup but it really needs a couple tsp. of chicken bouillon or cubes to give it a nice broth flavor...not too much though since the ham is salty. Came together nicely though...great served with a piece of homemade cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Until I tried this recipe, I didn't think I could make a good bean/ham soup. I used vegetable broth instead of water to simmer the beans. Altough I did not keep the bone, as I should have, it was still very good. Don't put in more white pepper until after you taste it. I added about 1/4 tsp. after about 2 hours because I could not smell it, but it was there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was most excellent. With that said...I followed a few others comments. I soaked my beans overnight. I also used about a cup or more of each vegetable...carrot, onion and celery. I did my cut prep work the night before...so I put the beans along with 8 cups of veggie stock (my Dad doesn't like chicken) and all the veggies (minus bay leaves...Dad doesn't like that either :-) in a crock pot on low for 8 hours the next morning. I got home and took my hand mixer and mixed some of the soup so it would have a thicker consistency. I made homemade cornbread and honey butter to go on top. This was a perfect meal for a cool evening. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silvis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
It was a bit bland. Perhaps using broth rather than water would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very tasty, and I am not usually a fan of soups. After reading reviews made the following adjustments: 1. soaked beans for 6 hours, then discarded soak water and made soup with fresh. 2. used 6 cups of liquid (1 can low sodium chicken stock, the rest water). 3. used leftover bone with meat from a honey ham. 4. Added NO salt 5. combined all ingredients into crock pot and cooked for 10 hours on low (overnight). 6. pureed about 1 cup of the beans and some of the broth, and combined back into pot. RESULTS: beans were breaking down - cooked too long. Otherwise it is amazing. glad I added the chicken stock instead of all water, but did not add any salt. I love the "extra" flavor of the honey ham - that flavor, along with pureeing the beans, makes it look/taste very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is the best soup recipe I've ever tried. I followed the recipe exactly and the broth and flavor was amazing. I was so tired of split green peas and ham soup (gets too thick) and made this today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Just made this today. Delicious, followed the recipe as written. Not necessary to soak beans overnight or boil bones longer as I read in other comments. Beans are tender and ham flavour is wonderfully infused with the times and instructions provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
We love this soup, i make it quite often. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States