Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Amazing! I omitted the celery and carrots (not a fan) and it was so good. Like someone else said, it was even better the next day. Next time, I'll make it a day ahead. Making it in advance and refrigerating it also gives you the chance to skim off the fat before reheating...a little healthier. I didn't save any leftovers for my husband. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Hearty and delicious! Added 2 cups of chicken stock to this and everyone raved at how good it was. The ham hock was already salty, so I did not add any additional salt and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Yum! This was really good bean soup. I like a lot of vegetables in it so I added more carrots, celery and a diced potato. I also threw in a handful of frozen green beans & a handful of frozen corn. I also used a lot less water because I like it nice & think. I also give the pot of soup a healthy squeeze of ketsup to add to the flavor. Don't laugh, it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
this is my normal soup ,,,only i add smashed garlic also on top of the minced garlic it adds alot of flavor...also for my family potatoes is a must in this soup...they really add substance to the soup and help thicken it a bit...i normally dont add the powdered mustard but it does add a great dimension of flavor...thank you for that tidbit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent flavor, easy to make. I wasn't able to soak my beans overnight, so I put them in boiling water for 2 minutes then turned them off and let them sit for 1 hour, then continued with the recipe. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This soup turned out to be everything I hoped it would! Just had a bowl for lunch with some homemade bread and it was delicious. I made a few small changes: First, I soaked the beans overnight, then rinsed them. I had about 5 cups of homemade chicken stock on hand which I brought up to 8 cups by adding fresh water. Instead of a ham hock, I had two large ham bones I'd frozen after a couple of nice holiday dinners. I cooked the soup as directed in the recipe, just adding a couple tablespoons of brown sugar and a few sprinkles of cayenne pepper. After an hour of simmering, I removed the ham bones and cut off any meat that hadn't already fallen off. This gave me plenty of ham and I didn't need to add more. I also took out a couple of cups of the cooked beans to puree, then added them and the chopped ham back to the pot. Simmered another half hour, and everything was perfectly cooked. The result was a thick, rich, flavorful soup. Luckily, no one else in my family likes beans so I get to freeze this soup in single servings and enjoy quite a few hearty lunches in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
i love the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
REALLY GOOD!!!! As good as I remember mom's being, but different because I used pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
i followed this recipe exactly and it had no flavor i had added another 1/2 tsp of salt still no flavor. after i decided to go ahead and add additional spices and salt it started to taste ok. i dont know if i would make it again. at least not without making alterations but that is just my opinion and everyone has a different taste pallet. but this was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this soup for dinner tonight with some leftover ham and it was good! I added some low-sodium chicken broth for additional flavor. Chopped up all the veggies, the ham and beans and added everything to the crock pot for an all-day simmer! Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States