Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
i love the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
REALLY GOOD!!!! As good as I remember mom's being, but different because I used pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
i followed this recipe exactly and it had no flavor i had added another 1/2 tsp of salt still no flavor. after i decided to go ahead and add additional spices and salt it started to taste ok. i dont know if i would make it again. at least not without making alterations but that is just my opinion and everyone has a different taste pallet. but this was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this soup for dinner tonight with some leftover ham and it was good! I added some low-sodium chicken broth for additional flavor. Chopped up all the veggies, the ham and beans and added everything to the crock pot for an all-day simmer! Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I tried this soup this evening, and really liked it. My husband usually doesn't care for ham and bean soup, but he polished off two bowlfuls! I didn't want to make a pond of soup for just us two without knowing if it was good, so more or less halved the recipe. Also I made it easier by using canned beans. I had bought an almost ten-pound presliced bone-in ham and had sliced off and used most of it, but there were a couple of cups of meat left on the bone (which wasn't very large). At the suggestion of some commenters, I simmered the ham bone for about an hour in 4 - 5 cups water with two bay leaves. (No added salt was needed, but I threw in a few grinds of pepper.) Meanwhile, I cut up a heaping cup of the ham, reserving the rest for later. I drained and rinsed a 14 1/2 can of great northern beans (navy or lima beans would do, I should think) and let them simmer with the ham bone. I cut up three carrots, peeled; three trimmed celery ribs; and half a large onion; and sauteed the vegetables for 5-10 minutes in a little cooking oil, in the bottom of a larger pot. I added a minced garlic clove for a minute, then added the chopped-up ham, along with 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard, and sauteed for a bit. Then I poured the ham bone, beans, and water into the sauteed stuff, and simmered the mixture for about 45 minutes. (You may need to add more hot water.) Mm. I'm saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Best bean soup I've ever made or tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ole' Glory farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
mistakingly added paprika instead of cayanne, but it really tasted great! used tomato sauce instead of juice because i didn't have juice. again, it turned out great. Also, calls for way too much chix broth. made mine in the slow cooker-i have a very large one or it would not have worked out. alot of juice so i added potatoes near the end- next time i will added a lot more potatoes-seemed to make it a little more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mishicot, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
takes about 4 hours, start-to-finish. Makes about 4-5 BIG bowls of soup. For this kind of time, I would advise doubling the recipe, so you have more soup for leftovers. A good basic soup, but again, would probably add more spices for more flavor. I included 3 thin pork chops for more meat; added the meat along with the veges to cook through. Also chopped up the ham hock once it was cooked through, for more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good recipe. I had to boil mine fore a bit longer for the beans to soften which was fine. It did thicken up a bit so I added a little chicken broth to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I gave this a 3 because I feel like I simply must have done something wrong. I used hamhocks, lots of tender loving care went into this and what I got was bland enough that I tossed the lot. Otherwise I'd have clocked this a 1 star. I really tried to get this rocking but it was just not to be. In retrospect, I think this needed some more veggies and some sugar, just a little. I'll look a little further afield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States