Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I didn't put in onion, and instead of chopping the ham I put it in the food processor. It flavors the broth better and ham in every spoonful. I use to have to process the meat for my dad since he couldn't chew the ham and continued to do it after he passed away because everything has more flavor with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
We had this for dinner tonight, and my husband and daughter (who both hate ham, but like beans) had second servings. I forgot to use the bay leaves and pepper, which would make this even better. I used the bone from a spiral sliced ham I made for a work event earlier in the week instead of a ham hock. I used low sodium chicken broth in place of the water. I soaked the beans overnight on "keep warm" in my crockpot, then drained them before putting all ingredients in the crockpot on LOW all day. I removed the bone in the evening, and put the full crock in the fridge overnight. In the morning, I skimmed a lot of fat from the surface, then put the crock on low to warm through. I will make this next time I have a leftover ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Good basic recipe! I added chopped kale for a few minutes at the end to add some greenery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
cooked it every1 loved it and its easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I use "mixed beans" in a bag and it really is so much better than bland Northern. I use both, ham hocks and I buy a small chunk or "real ham" on the bone. If you buy these packages of "pre cut diced ham", DO NOT. There is no flavor in them, and they "just don't produce the same results and flavor". Plus, "they make your soup look fake with these "perfect square cubes!' floating around. But seriously, the flavor is "just not the same". Do not forget the "smocked ham hocks", because "that IS the secret ingredient to a fine tasting Bean soup. I do add, diced onion, celery, and carrots. Be real careful with your salt, wait till almost finished and taste the soup. The reason for this is because both the ham hocks & Ham are cured with salt. I also mix "low sodium chicken broth" with equal parts of water( for the broth base) Just be careful and watch your salt. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I used a "bean mix" that I let soak overnight instead of just great Nothern, otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. The beans took over two hours to cook, it was terribly bland and watery and not very good. Don't know what I got wrong, but won't attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A nice solid soup. I soaked the beans overnight in the unheated crockpot. In the morning I drained them, put in fresh water and the turned the heat on with the ham hock and seasonings. It stewed all day and was very yummy. I did add extra carrots because we can never have too many veggies. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I tried this , it is pretty well the same way I make it. However, this recipe calls for mustard powder. I added 1/2 of what it called for and it is very very overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is good soup but it really needs a couple tsp. of chicken bouillon or cubes to give it a nice broth flavor...not too much though since the ham is salty. Came together nicely though...great served with a piece of homemade cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Until I tried this recipe, I didn't think I could make a good bean/ham soup. I used vegetable broth instead of water to simmer the beans. Altough I did not keep the bone, as I should have, it was still very good. Don't put in more white pepper until after you taste it. I added about 1/4 tsp. after about 2 hours because I could not smell it, but it was there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States