Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This recipe was wonderful. I did add chicken boullion cubes for a little more flavor but it made a big difference. Doubled carrots and celery for more veggies. A wonderful recipe that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Used 15.5 oz canned great northern beans and 29 oz chicken broth. Added that to step #2 in pot and simmered 60 minutes. Delish! I am so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I substituted 6 cups of chicken stock for 6 cups of water. I also don't love the smell of white pepper, so I used black pepper. Also waited to add the salt until the end because of concerns about making the beans tougher and overwhelming the salt because of the ham added later. I did the quick soak method for the beans and cooked them a bit longer than described and it was fine. I often forget to soak the beans until the next day when I want to eat them. This soup is a wonderful meal when served with some warm bread and a fresh salad. I did the traditional spinach salad for this dinner."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a good base recipe to add spices to increase or develop the flavors we like. I used homemade chicken broth instead of water, didn't have enough carrot, so I used a parsnip to make up the difference. Soaked my beans overnight the old fashioned way...more economical and I can control the sodium that way. Smashed 1/2 of the beans at the end of cooking to thicken the soup. Very good on this cold winter day! Homemade corn muffins were a nice accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I loved it simple dish. I made this without ham hock. I used just the two cups of chopped ham.I used a 32 oz jar of great northern beans and used a 32oz box of low sodium chicken stock instead of the water otherwise followed the recipe the same very delicious thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I just made this recipe for New Year's Day. I did a few variations. I had a ham bone from a Christmas spiral ham. I put it in the crock pot overnight to make my own stock. I used canned beans for simplicity sake...they were great and I added a head of cabbage because I LOVE CABBAGE. I also did not have to add the mustard because my left over ham was glazed with it.... This soup was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Followed recipe to a T and ended up having to add beef bouillon (because that's all I had on hand) and the beans were still crunchy. I didn't read any of the other reviews because all I saw were 5 stars and figured it must be a good recipe. Highly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiggerpooh
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It was easy and very tasty we didn't put in any carrots or celery. We did make some steamed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I was excited about this recipe with all the great reviews. .. while it wasn't a bad pot of soup- my husband and I both found it very bland. This was after I had increased the mustard onion and garlic :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great recipe. Very easy to make and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States