Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good simple reicpe that gets better with age(the next day or two). Work with what you have and use this recipe as a guideline and you will be happy every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is good! I used turkey broth that I had made up instead of the 4 cups chicken broth.... It turned out marvelous! defiantly a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
it was a basic pretty good bean soup recipe, i followed the recipe exactly... My husband and i agreed it needed more broth and more ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This recipe is perfect, just used a ham bone for flavor because I had one from our Christmas ham, was wonderful an deserves 5 stars for taste and simplicity. Just remember you need plenty of salt, beans tend to soak up everything you put in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This turned out really good, however I did make some changes. I soaked the beans for about 7 hours, then put everything in the crockpot on high. I did not have a ham hock, so added 1 c extra ham. I used 4 c chicken broth & 4 c water, added extra garlic & also did not have any celery. After about 3 hours on high the beans were still crunchy & the soup was very bland. So I added some spices, garlic powder, seasoned salt, paprika & red pepper and put it in the fridge overnight. Then put on low the next day for 6-7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was a bit salty. I usually love salt but next time I won't add salt. Otherwise, the soup had great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I thought this was very good, used half low-sodium chicken stock and pureed half the soup before adding the ham to make it really creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I liked this! I had never had Ham and Bean soup before but I wanted soup and had a leftover spiral cut ham bone. Definitely soak the beans overnight. I used the largest crock pot with chicken broth about 6.5 cups. No salt, used black pepper. 2 cups carrots, 2 stalks celery. I cooked it on HIGH for 6 hours, low for the first 4. Carrots were too mushy for that but it seems like thats what it took to get the beans to cook. Maybe add in carrots and celery later next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I read several reviews before I prepared this. I used baking soda to "degas" the beans during their initial boiling (for ten minutes) , rinsed and then proceeded with the recipe. I believe a ham shank is better than a ham hock (more meat, less fat and skin) and I increased the vegetables. To me using chicken stock increases the flavor and the salt is not necessary with what is in the ham. The bay leaves and mustard powder are good additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great recipe! Followed some other reviewers suggestions and pureed 1/3 of the beans. So yummy!! Made with jalepeno cornbread. Yay! Perfect when its cold outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinalouise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States