Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Soup was excellent and very easy to make! The only thing I did different was I omitted the salt the 2nd time I made it and enjoyed it a lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This ham and bean soup was delicious! I followed some other reviewers' suggestions and bought a bag of mixed dried beans. I used the quick soak method and it worked fine. I put the leftover bone from our Christmas spiral ham along with all the other ingredients in the crock pot for 8 hours on low. Along with a loaf of Italian bread we had a hearty meal for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made ham and bean soup tonight and followed this recipe using it as a base. I made the following changes mostly based off others suggestions and the soup was wonderful. I omitted the celery, I halved the recipe so I used 2 cans of beans as well as their juice, 2/3 lb bacon fried drained and crumbled, 1 can of chicken broth only two cups of water and 2 chicken Bouillan cubes. I do most of my cooking by taste and so I continued adding fresh ground pepper until satisfied which was alot. I will save this recipe and my notes and make this again, thanks for the starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is a very good, basic recipe. As written, I am rating it 4 stars as I found the result to be very bland. The next time I made it, I used a 20 oz. bag of 15 bean soup mix beans, chicken broth instead of water, and the meaty leftover ham bone from a spiral sliced Holiday Ham along with a chunk of pork jowl bacon. Still found the result to be bland until I decided to add the Cajun seasoning packet that comes in the 15 bean mix and simmer longer. That did the trick - not too spicey at all, rather just enough "something extra" to give the soup a lot more flavor. We all loved it and agreed that it should get 5 stars made this way. Still, this is a great basic ham and bean soup recipe that you can adjust to suit your own taste. Oh, and I tried the reviewer suggestion of bringing the dried beans to a boil with a tablespoon of baking soda 3 separate times (and rinsing) to "de-gas" the beans. I had such high hopes for this; but, alas, it did not work at all - for any of us :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alligator, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This turned out wonderful. I soaked the beans overnight and i used a couple cans of chicken broth. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good simple reicpe that gets better with age(the next day or two). Work with what you have and use this recipe as a guideline and you will be happy every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is good! I used turkey broth that I had made up instead of the 4 cups chicken broth.... It turned out marvelous! defiantly a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
it was a basic pretty good bean soup recipe, i followed the recipe exactly... My husband and i agreed it needed more broth and more ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This recipe is perfect, just used a ham bone for flavor because I had one from our Christmas ham, was wonderful an deserves 5 stars for taste and simplicity. Just remember you need plenty of salt, beans tend to soak up everything you put in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This turned out really good, however I did make some changes. I soaked the beans for about 7 hours, then put everything in the crockpot on high. I did not have a ham hock, so added 1 c extra ham. I used 4 c chicken broth & 4 c water, added extra garlic & also did not have any celery. After about 3 hours on high the beans were still crunchy & the soup was very bland. So I added some spices, garlic powder, seasoned salt, paprika & red pepper and put it in the fridge overnight. Then put on low the next day for 6-7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States