Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is my husband's favorite new soup. I'm not a fan of any ham and bean soup, but he raved about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcrippes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
So yummy! Simple but delicious! The taste of vegetables and beans with the salty ham is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This didn't really come out the way I was expecting... I cooked in the slow cooker for at least 12 hours but the beans didn't really break down and become a thick soup like I thought they would, it still seemed like beans and vegetables floating in broth to me. With the leftovers I skimmed all of the liquid off the top and used an electric mixer to blend it up and I thought the texture was much better and looked less unappetizing. It did taste good, and I forgot to soak the beans overnight so I used the suggestion to boil the beans with baking soda a couple times which seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
SOOO GOOOOD. I had a ham hock from Easter and made this soup. I followed other reviewers and used half chicken broth half water. But only 6 1/2 cups. I used a 15 bean soup bag o beans that I soaked over night. I tossed it all together and let it simmer for about 4 hours. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is a GREAT basic starter recipe, first I started with stock made from a honey store chicken, then used some better then bouillon paste. I added a bit more water cup or so, I used two cans of great northern beans, and crushed 3 cans of Cannellini Beans to help thicken. I also used an Immersion Blender and ran around the pot 3 or4 times which ground up some of all the ingredients just a pinch of salt. Honey baked ham, roasted red peppers, onion, two cans of roasted tomatoes, pepper, garlic, bay leaf, carrots, no celery hate those things. I had read another review about dry bean not lasting forever, I had started this soup with my old beans and it dawned on me all these years I had made soup with dry beans and had to soak and cook them for a week before I could get them the least bit palpable so thanks very much for this bit of information that dry beans not last forever I guess they had been sitting way to long in some warehouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I added a bit of Lawry's season salt and a tad bit more pepper and it was great! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Delicious! Even my fussy child liked it. I altered this recipe a bit though. I bought the big glass jar of ready mixed beans and intermixed the recipe on that label with this one. Did 6 cups of beef broth, added tsp of mustard powder, salt, pepper, can of green beans, can of roasted chopped tomatoes, cubed ham, chopped bunch of green onions, garlic, and the 2 bay leaves)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kahrnctr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Ish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious! Served with cheese biscuits for a perfect winter meal. The only thing I did different was use a 16-bean mix and substituted half the water with chicken broth. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is the best bean soup I've ever had! I made a few adjustments, I put chicken 2 bullion cubes in because I didnt have chicken broth off hand. I also used a 16 bean melody that I found at the grocery store. I also added more veggies and a little pinch of crushed red pepper flakes to give it some heat. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States