Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this soup after reading some of the reviews posted. I made mine in a 12 quart pot, I used 8 cups of water plus chick broth. I also pureed an amount which made the soup thicker. I added whole cloves and more garlic and onions to mine. It looks and smells great! I love this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista DeMoss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
The whole family loved this! I didn't have time to soak the beans, so I used 3 cans of beans drained Maybe next time I'll experiment with adding other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
My kids ate this more than most soups, and I liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I looked up this recipe last night, I read all the reviews, I used the suggest too use chicken broth and I'm very glad I did it gave this soup lots of flavor, I cooked the beans in water for 60 mins. Then poured that water out, then put the chicken broth in pan bought it to a boil then added beans, ham bone and the rest of the ingredients and simmer for 1 1/2hours This came out so good ( this is the first time I have ever made this) so easy, I would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I love this recipe! It is best if made the day before or cooked in the crockpot. Even the grandkids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Hubby thought it was great. I thought it was okay. Kids didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I came looking for a ham soup recipe with no peas or potatoes. This was quite good. I used kidney beans and soaked and rinsed them. My ham was very salty so I was glad I didn't add salt. I had a big ham bone with a lot of meat on it so I started off with more water and boiled it down before adding the soaked beans. Good simple recipe though! My 4 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I really liked how simple and easy this recipe was, if you soak the beans over night you can skip the first step, and get right to the cooking. I do not understand why people add chicken stock because if your using ham, that does not come from the same animal, so that is just a little weird. All I did was added 8 more cups of water after it was reduced, and add the salt, mustard powder, and white pepper to taste, and it was back to flavor again. Thanks for posting this! Now I am going to eat my soup. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is awesome . I let it simmer all day long on low and used a mixture of great northern, black , pinto beans and my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is a good basic recipe with one improvement. The secret to any good soup is the stock from which it is made. So first, the ham stock should be made separately from any other ingredients because it takes a few hours to get the ham flavor fully out of a ham bone. I would also use ham hocks in addition to (or in lieu of) the ham bone, because ham hocks have many joints and contribute a lot of protein richness to the stock. A properly done stock will actually gel if stored in fridge - the gel is the protein not the fat. Once the stock is made, you can strain it and toss the ham hocks and bone out because if done correctly, the flavor from the hocks and bones has now been transferred into the stock. Once the stock is done, add the beans only, and cook till done. Finally add the more tender ingredients like veggies and ham meat. Cook as long as you like for your veggie tenderness. Like any soup, it benefits from a night in the fridge before eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States