Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very good recipe. I don't usually change things up - not that brave. But I read reviews and did the following: 3 celery stalks 4 c water/ 4 c chicken broth I sauteed the onion, celery, garlic before adding. I also added a can of condensed milk - loved this addition. Made it more creamy, thickened it. I used the crock pot. PUt beans in the boiling water, let sit for an hour. Than cooked on high 4 hours, OPened up, took the meat off the bone. Cooked 3 more hours. Opened, added more ham and milk. Let cook about an hour more. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is excellent! I did add a little more salt than called for, but did not use broth. It tastes just like my mom's used to and it was the best! Thanks1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was beyond delicious. Made it with the following differences: used 6 cups of chicken stock versus the 8 cups of water. Didn't have bay leaves on-hand so used a tsp. of italian seasoning. Used 3 stalks of celery and a spiral cut ham bone instead of the ham hock. Soaked the beans in water for 6 hours, drained/rinsed the beans Put all ingredients in a crock pot on low for 10 hours. Excellent!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great! Made in slow cooker, 2 hours on high and 5 hours on low. Out of celery so used celery salt. Used half water and half chicken stock. Added potato flakes as suggested to thicken liquid. Also used Lawry's Seasoned Pepper instead of white pepper. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This soup is fabulous! I needed to use up leftover ham from Christmas and found this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly (except I didn't have any bay leaves). I like my soup with a good bit of broth, so for the last 30 minutes, I added more water and threw the bone back in. It was GREAT anyway, but I just wanted more broth. Next time I'll increase it in the beginning. No probelms with the beans for me, but I may cook it a little longer than the intended time to soften them a bit more. The recipe is fabulous as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I had the bone left over from our Christmas ham and wanted to make a ham and bean soup so decided to try this recipe. I thought it was very good and I only made a couple of modifications. I prefer to soak my beans overnight so I skipped the first step; although the instructions on the bag of beans matched the first step of this recipe, so I'm sure either way is fine. Secondly, I used 4 cups beef broth and 4 cups water. I had enough meat that came off the bone that I didn't need.to add any more. Finally, I prefer a thicker soup so I took out 1 to 2 cups of the soup mixture and pureed it, then added it back to the soup. This one is now part of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Wonderful Soup !! Kept pretty much to the recipe...tho..did saute onions, celery and minced garlic in butter prior to adding and did substitute chicken stock for 3/4 of the water..plus twice as much veggies along with three small diced white rose potatoes as well...and added some potato flakes to thicken a bit at the end - increased white pepper by double but added no salt - cooked in crockpot all day first few hrs on high..then the rest on low..about 10 hrs total - house smelled heavenly all day and the soup was just to die for !! (used 3 cans small white beans...drained and rinsed) Simply Excellent !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I turned this into a slow cooker recipe and added a can of cream of chicken soup since I had no chicken broth. Very tasty so will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
We loved this! I used the crockpot suggestion and it turned out perfect. I served with a sprinkle of grated parmesan cheese on the top of each bowl and some fresh homemade french bread. My husband and my kids raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was tasty. I didn't mess with the recipe except to use canned beans since I didn't have time to soak dry ones. Nice consistency when simmered long enough, not too watery. Lovely recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States