Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great! Made in slow cooker, 2 hours on high and 5 hours on low. Out of celery so used celery salt. Used half water and half chicken stock. Added potato flakes as suggested to thicken liquid. Also used Lawry's Seasoned Pepper instead of white pepper. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This soup is fabulous! I needed to use up leftover ham from Christmas and found this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly (except I didn't have any bay leaves). I like my soup with a good bit of broth, so for the last 30 minutes, I added more water and threw the bone back in. It was GREAT anyway, but I just wanted more broth. Next time I'll increase it in the beginning. No probelms with the beans for me, but I may cook it a little longer than the intended time to soften them a bit more. The recipe is fabulous as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I had the bone left over from our Christmas ham and wanted to make a ham and bean soup so decided to try this recipe. I thought it was very good and I only made a couple of modifications. I prefer to soak my beans overnight so I skipped the first step; although the instructions on the bag of beans matched the first step of this recipe, so I'm sure either way is fine. Secondly, I used 4 cups beef broth and 4 cups water. I had enough meat that came off the bone that I didn't need.to add any more. Finally, I prefer a thicker soup so I took out 1 to 2 cups of the soup mixture and pureed it, then added it back to the soup. This one is now part of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Wonderful Soup !! Kept pretty much to the recipe...tho..did saute onions, celery and minced garlic in butter prior to adding and did substitute chicken stock for 3/4 of the water..plus twice as much veggies along with three small diced white rose potatoes as well...and added some potato flakes to thicken a bit at the end - increased white pepper by double but added no salt - cooked in crockpot all day first few hrs on high..then the rest on low..about 10 hrs total - house smelled heavenly all day and the soup was just to die for !! (used 3 cans small white beans...drained and rinsed) Simply Excellent !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I turned this into a slow cooker recipe and added a can of cream of chicken soup since I had no chicken broth. Very tasty so will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
We loved this! I used the crockpot suggestion and it turned out perfect. I served with a sprinkle of grated parmesan cheese on the top of each bowl and some fresh homemade french bread. My husband and my kids raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was tasty. I didn't mess with the recipe except to use canned beans since I didn't have time to soak dry ones. Nice consistency when simmered long enough, not too watery. Lovely recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have made this soup about 4 times now and it's the best. So flavorful. This one is a keeper and great for a cold winter weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frontier_man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcus, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Yum! Delicious recipe! Got a thumbs up from the whole family of picky eaters. I soaked beans about 5 hours, boiled and simmered another hour and threw in the crockpot for 8 hours with seasoning veggies, and leftover bone from a spiral cut ham. this gave it a thick consistancy but that was fine! Very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Amazing. Easy. Soak your beans over night and you can skip the first step of boiling your beans for 60 minutes prior to beginning the 60 minute simmer with the ham hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States