Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Great basic soup recipe. I covered the pot after I turned off the heat. After the 60 min soak I poured out half the water and replaced it with chicken broth. The only other change was some extra mustard powder and a little thyme. Great soup, hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forestville, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Took other suggestions .. used 2 cans chicken broth, added water to make 6 cups. Didn't have a ham hock but it didn't seem to need it for flavor (though I did have to add a little bit of salt to compensate). Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This sounds like my soup, except to thicken the broth a little add 1 cup mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was very good! Only thing I did different was add the juice I saved from baking my ham - it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This soup was very good. I used the bone from my Christmas ham. I also used chicken stock instead of water, plus the beans that I bought had a packet of "ham flavor," so I used it, too. I also added extra carrots and celery. After sitting in the fridge overnight, the soup was quite thick, as the beans continued to absorb liquid. It was still very good, though, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Was excellent! I used leftover spiral ham bone with meat on it, added 4 chicken bouillon cubes and omitted bay leaves and mustard since I didn't have any plus I used 2 lbs of mixed dried beans. I quick soaked the beans for an hour and then rinsed off that water and used fresh water to cook the bean and soup. Best I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very good recipe. I don't usually change things up - not that brave. But I read reviews and did the following: 3 celery stalks 4 c water/ 4 c chicken broth I sauteed the onion, celery, garlic before adding. I also added a can of condensed milk - loved this addition. Made it more creamy, thickened it. I used the crock pot. PUt beans in the boiling water, let sit for an hour. Than cooked on high 4 hours, OPened up, took the meat off the bone. Cooked 3 more hours. Opened, added more ham and milk. Let cook about an hour more. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is excellent! I did add a little more salt than called for, but did not use broth. It tastes just like my mom's used to and it was the best! Thanks1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was beyond delicious. Made it with the following differences: used 6 cups of chicken stock versus the 8 cups of water. Didn't have bay leaves on-hand so used a tsp. of italian seasoning. Used 3 stalks of celery and a spiral cut ham bone instead of the ham hock. Soaked the beans in water for 6 hours, drained/rinsed the beans Put all ingredients in a crock pot on low for 10 hours. Excellent!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great! Made in slow cooker, 2 hours on high and 5 hours on low. Out of celery so used celery salt. Used half water and half chicken stock. Added potato flakes as suggested to thicken liquid. Also used Lawry's Seasoned Pepper instead of white pepper. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States