Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I gave this a 3 because I feel like I simply must have done something wrong. I used hamhocks, lots of tender loving care went into this and what I got was bland enough that I tossed the lot. Otherwise I'd have clocked this a 1 star. I really tried to get this rocking but it was just not to be. In retrospect, I think this needed some more veggies and some sugar, just a little. I'll look a little further afield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Simple and delicious. I actually used this as a base and did a few things different after reading another recipe (The best bean and ham soup, but didn't want to cook for 10 hours). My husband thought it was more ham stew then soup. I used 8 cups of homemade turkey broth (instead of water), 16 bean variety and soaked overnight (instead of northern), 5 carrots, 3 celery stocks, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 2 tbsp worcestershire sauce, 2 tbsp spicy golden mustard (instead of mustard powder), 2 tbsp brown sugar, vegetable broth to cover ham bone, and deli baked ham sliced thick and chopped. Yes, I know this is pretty different but again I liked the sound of the other recipe, but just didn't want to cook for 10 hours :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was SO yummy! I cannot understand how other reviewers find this bland--this was SO flavorful and I even forgot to add the mustard powder (oops!). I used the leftover ham bone from our Christmas brunch (I used the Tangy Honey Glazed Ham recipe from this site); it made for a scrumptious soup! I'd never cooked dried beans before and this turned out great. I did add cooking time to every step; I had a lot to do around the house and figured the extra time couldn't hurt. I did mash some beans and add a potato to thicken it up. Next time around (and there WILL be a next time) I'll try some of the tips for de-gassing the beans. ;-) Even so, this soup's flavor makes it totally worth the burpy aftermath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Good flavor, but way too many beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Good basic recipe with lots of room for individualizing. I used an immersion blender that gave the base, including the beans and ham, a thick texture, then added more ham and more beans for "chunkiness." I only make this soup about once a year because my husband's not a soup lover, but I'm holding onto this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I thought this was an average soup. Not a lot of flavor so I had to add a lot of chicken base w/it(I wish I had ham base, would've made it much better). Didn't wow me, I won't make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Really tasty soup but waaaaay too many beans. I used half the amount of beans, much better the second time around. Secondly, I used 1/2 chicken stock, 1/2 water. Thirdly, I cooked and then chilled the soup in the fridge overnight, and skimmed the fat off the next morning. Ham is quite fatty, and I pulled a LOT of fat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
As with the recommendations of previous posters, i soaked my beans over night in the 8 cups of water. drained and then used 8cups of chicken broth to cook with the beans....... did everything else by the recipe. OMG!!! very flavorful and rich bean soup!! best i ever had!!! only gave it 4 stars because i had altered it a bit... but with alterations 5+ stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made this for the church community and it was a big hit. I followed the recipe as is. I added a little cummin for more of a smoky flavor. Several people want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Rucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
It was very tasty. I did add ketchup because...well thats how we ate it growing up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States