Basic Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I tried this soup this evening, and really liked it. My husband usually doesn't care for ham and bean soup, but he polished off two bowlfuls! I didn't want to make a pond of soup for just us two without knowing if it was good, so more or less halved the recipe. Also I made it easier by using canned beans. I had bought an almost ten-pound presliced bone-in ham and had sliced off and used most of it, but there were a couple of cups of meat left on the bone (which wasn't very large). At the suggestion of some commenters, I simmered the ham bone for about an hour in 4 - 5 cups water with two bay leaves. (No added salt was needed, but I threw in a few grinds of pepper.) Meanwhile, I cut up a heaping cup of the ham, reserving the rest for later. I drained and rinsed a 14 1/2 can of great northern beans (navy or lima beans would do, I should think) and let them simmer with the ham bone. I cut up three carrots, peeled; three trimmed celery ribs; and half a large onion; and sauteed the vegetables for 5-10 minutes in a little cooking oil, in the bottom of a larger pot. I added a minced garlic clove for a minute, then added the chopped-up ham, along with 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard, and sauteed for a bit. Then I poured the ham bone, beans, and water into the sauteed stuff, and simmered the mixture for about 45 minutes. (You may need to add more hot water.) Mm. I'm saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Best bean soup I've ever made or tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ole' Glory farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
mistakingly added paprika instead of cayanne, but it really tasted great! used tomato sauce instead of juice because i didn't have juice. again, it turned out great. Also, calls for way too much chix broth. made mine in the slow cooker-i have a very large one or it would not have worked out. alot of juice so i added potatoes near the end- next time i will added a lot more potatoes-seemed to make it a little more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mishicot, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
takes about 4 hours, start-to-finish. Makes about 4-5 BIG bowls of soup. For this kind of time, I would advise doubling the recipe, so you have more soup for leftovers. A good basic soup, but again, would probably add more spices for more flavor. I included 3 thin pork chops for more meat; added the meat along with the veges to cook through. Also chopped up the ham hock once it was cooked through, for more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good recipe. I had to boil mine fore a bit longer for the beans to soften which was fine. It did thicken up a bit so I added a little chicken broth to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I gave this a 3 because I feel like I simply must have done something wrong. I used hamhocks, lots of tender loving care went into this and what I got was bland enough that I tossed the lot. Otherwise I'd have clocked this a 1 star. I really tried to get this rocking but it was just not to be. In retrospect, I think this needed some more veggies and some sugar, just a little. I'll look a little further afield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Simple and delicious. I actually used this as a base and did a few things different after reading another recipe (The best bean and ham soup, but didn't want to cook for 10 hours). My husband thought it was more ham stew then soup. I used 8 cups of homemade turkey broth (instead of water), 16 bean variety and soaked overnight (instead of northern), 5 carrots, 3 celery stocks, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 2 tbsp worcestershire sauce, 2 tbsp spicy golden mustard (instead of mustard powder), 2 tbsp brown sugar, vegetable broth to cover ham bone, and deli baked ham sliced thick and chopped. Yes, I know this is pretty different but again I liked the sound of the other recipe, but just didn't want to cook for 10 hours :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was SO yummy! I cannot understand how other reviewers find this bland--this was SO flavorful and I even forgot to add the mustard powder (oops!). I used the leftover ham bone from our Christmas brunch (I used the Tangy Honey Glazed Ham recipe from this site); it made for a scrumptious soup! I'd never cooked dried beans before and this turned out great. I did add cooking time to every step; I had a lot to do around the house and figured the extra time couldn't hurt. I did mash some beans and add a potato to thicken it up. Next time around (and there WILL be a next time) I'll try some of the tips for de-gassing the beans. ;-) Even so, this soup's flavor makes it totally worth the burpy aftermath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Good flavor, but way too many beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Good basic recipe with lots of room for individualizing. I used an immersion blender that gave the base, including the beans and ham, a thick texture, then added more ham and more beans for "chunkiness." I only make this soup about once a year because my husband's not a soup lover, but I'm holding onto this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States