Basic Fruit Bread Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2000
Simple recipe that takes barely any time or effort. I used bananas and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
What did I do wrong? The bread came out very dense and hard. Is three cups the right amount of flour?? The taste was good, though. That's why I gave a good rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I had the same problem as the first review. It came out very dry and heavy. I made mine with apples and cranberries. Should there be something added to give it more moistness?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This is a very versitle recipe that allows you to experiment with a variety of ingredients. You can use this recipe over and over again and your results will always be unique. (My kids LOVE this recipe and always beg to help me make it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This recipe was ok, but I was not overly impressed. There's WAY too much flour; I had to add about 1/2 cup of milk to the batter to mix in all the flour. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
turned out very dry and doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
definitely a no!! ugh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsey0122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
They key to this recipe is the "shredded apple". Shredded apple adds a LOT of liquid. Also the shredding yields more liquid than chopping. If you are going to substitute other fruits for the apple i recommend something that is equilly as moist as an apple; such as zucchini, fresh peaches, carrots or any other moist fruit (shredded). Dried fruits will not work without added liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEY638

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by signingcharity
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I added bananas as well. I should have mixed them in better but otherwise it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States