Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Alright, everyone agrees that it's better with beer. This is the version I've been using: INGREDIENTS 1/4 cup butter 1/4 cup flour 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce 1/4 tsp. dry mustard 1 bottle (12 oz.) beer 3 cups old Canadian Cheddar cheese, shredded 1 Baguette, cubed; each cube with crust INSTRUCTIONS In saucepan, melt butter; blend in flour, Worcestershire sauce and mustard. Gradually stir in beer; stir until mixture comes to a boil. Reduce heat; add cheese, stir until melted. Transfer to fondue pot; place over low heat. Serve with bread cubes. This recipe makes less so you can have it for two, and it tastes better because it uses beer. The older the cheddar the better the results. Add a few drops of lemon juice to help it melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
494 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
We halved the recipe and used beer in place of the milk. Added a few extra cloves of garlic and tossed the cheese w/ the flour and then added it to the liquid ingredients. It was fantastic. I did remind me of the Melting Pot's cheddar fondue. I'm definately making it again. We served it w/ bread, green apple and cauliflower. I didn't rate it a 5 because with out substituting beer for the milk this would have been very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Before adding the shredded cheese, I highly recommend mixing it with a little flour. This helps the texture a lot. Also, reducing milk base by 1/2 and substituting a white wine or light beer works very nicely to liven this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This was a big hit, even with picky adult eaters! I followed some of the other advice and used 1 cup beer and 1 cup milk and mixed the flour with the cheese before adding it. the consistency was great! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This cheese fondue was wonderful and so seasy to make. Tastes very similar to the cheese fondue I've had a the "Melting Pot" a national chain of fondue restaurants. I'll make this one again for sure. Try it with french bread. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Very good. I used half & half in place of milk, used half cheddar, half mexican blend, added a splash of white wine. Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This was really good! I used half and half and added a little more garlic. I'm glad I finally found a fondue recipe w/o alcohol (I'm not 21 yet)! I will make this again, for sure. By The Way: We had left overs (there's only 2 of us) and they tasted just as great when we re-heated them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I made a half recipe of this and it turned out fairly well. I have made fondue only once before and it came out stringy. After reading up on fondue, I found out that adding a little lemon juice can help it come together, riper cheese works better (so sharp over mild cheddar), flour should be added to the cheese and in the end a little corn starch can be added to help it come together. I did all of these and it did come together in the end. I also used half beer instead of only milk, and it gave it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This was AWESOME! I have finally found a great recipe! We LOVE The Melting Pot and subbed a can of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I tried this for Thanksgiving and it went over well, however, I only used 3 cups of cheese, 3/4 cup of milk and 1 cup of beer. I added more worsterchire sauce and mustard for extra zing. I also tossed the cheese with flour prior to melting and it was smooth as can be. We dipped granny snith apples, and pumperniclke bread. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States