Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this for a Thanksgiving appetizer. I used beer as so many others have suggested to give it that zing. I used a Pale Ale. It was a hit. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Really good flavor. I followed the other reviews and added some beer for flavor as well. I used this in a fondue fountain, but it turned solid after an hour. Any ideas on how to keep it creamy & moving?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Pretty good for a basic fondue. No single flavor stood out or overpowered any of the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
We didn't enjoy this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Pretty good. My guests enjoyed it. I will most likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
The flavor was okay but I did not like the consistency. I have made fondue before which turned out perfect. It coated the bread and veggies. This didn't coat it just ran off. It also was not smooth like the other fondue. Sorry but this is a no for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Not impressed, I used half beer and half milk as suggested by other reviewers. The mixture was far to soupy and the cheese melted and stayed in a big ball, not as smooth as I'd hope it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I Loved this recipe! It was my first time making and eating fondue. It was wonderful. My husband loved it also. I didn't have Cheddard so i used Colby-jack, and I didn't have wine so i just left it out. I also put the flour with the chees before melting it, and it worked great. We dipped Asparagus, French Bread, and Steak. Will Definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Slightly thick but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe is awesome, better than the Melting Pot in my opinion. I cut the recipe in half and used 1 garlic clove, 1/2 cup of milk and a 1/2 cup of Amberbock. As other users had suggested I coated the cheese with flour and then added it to the liquid. I added the milk, beer and worcestershire and after it heated up a little bit, the milk curdled. This did not affect the taste or texture of the fondue. More than enough for two people. I used garlic sourdough bread and granny smith apples to dip in the fondue. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States