Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
My only complaint with the recipe was that it didn't say why type of cheddar to use. I use sharp or extra sharp and it had a good flavor. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Made this with beer and garlic flavored cheddar. Nobody could stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Good basic recipe, really good with some french bread and veggies! Like everyone said, beer in place of milk gives it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Now this was great! I just took it inmy head to make cheese fondue one night and pulled this reciped and it was wonderfully easy to make. I took the suggestion and substituted the milk for beer and it came out very good. I served it with some home made bread and we ran out of bread were dipping anything we could into it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I tried with beer as others suggested. I don't think I liked the beer. You could definitely taste it - and I do like to drink beer, just didn't like the taste in the fondue. Will try again without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Basic and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great low-budget recipe!!!! I followed the revision that used 1 bottle of beer (used Firestone Double Barrel Ale), and just used cheap Costco Kirkland brand sharp cheddar and it was very tasty for a inexpensive Valentine's Dinner. Cut french bread cubes, green apple, carrots, celery. Granted, the cheddar tastes much different than using the normal swiss/french cheese recipe, but the flavor from the beer made it suprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
So delicious and easy! I did half beer and half milk as well and thought it was amazing. Great consistency, great flavor. This will definitely be our go-to cheese fondue recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I took others suggestions and used 1 cup milk and 1 cup beer. It turned out great. Very cheesy. I served it with french bread. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I tried this and used half milk and half beer like other people said to do. It was awful I would not recommend this recipe without some serious alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States