Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
If you want warm, watered down cheese this is the recipe. I made it as per instructions with the beer substitution. When I tasted it I gagged. It had NO flavor. I ended up adding cayenne pepper, Tony Checheres, and various other stuff to give it a flavor but it was still barely edible. This was HORRIBLE!! Thank god I didnt make it for a party-I would have been really embarassed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I left this with my husband to make... and he added white wine instead of beer (as previous reviewers had had success with). The flavor was very good - but it was really watery with a large lump of cheese at the bottom - I think it doesn't take too long to 'set' - and he left it cooking for a longer time than required... I'm pretty sure it had more to do with the cook than the recipe... I'll be in charge next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I made a half recipe of this and it turned out fairly well. I have made fondue only once before and it came out stringy. After reading up on fondue, I found out that adding a little lemon juice can help it come together, riper cheese works better (so sharp over mild cheddar), flour should be added to the cheese and in the end a little corn starch can be added to help it come together. I did all of these and it did come together in the end. I also used half beer instead of only milk, and it gave it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Easy, tasty recipe. Made it for teens and they like it. I followed the recipe except I rubbed the fondue pot with the garlic, rather than put the garlic directly in the recipe. If you like a tangier sauce, add some tabasco sauce. I wasn't sure about the consistency. It looked a little odd, but it was easy to dip the bread cubes in and get them coated. I have had fondues that didn't want to stick to the bread. I was glad this one worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Since I have never had nor made cheese fondue I will have to give this a 4 instead of a 5. I made this in my new fondue pot that I received as a gift at my wedding and thought I'd break it out for a baby shower this past weekend. I followed the recipe with no problems. Substituted once cup of milk for a cup of beer. Also used mild cheddar. The fondue was a hit!!! Everyone loved it and some asked for the recipe! Many of the ladies were coming back for seconds. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This was a big hit, even with picky adult eaters! I followed some of the other advice and used 1 cup beer and 1 cup milk and mixed the flour with the cheese before adding it. the consistency was great! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
This is the best recipe ever. Use beer and you've got the melting pot's Beer Cheedar Fondue!!! I love it and make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
It was ok. Pretty boring. Not enough zip for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
What the heck did I do wrong? My inlaws said they loved this, but it was all grainy and clumpy. I used regular-fat everything and it came out grainy and icky. I was really upset and dissapointed in this. I will not make this again for fear that I will embarrass myself in front of others. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
We went to a wine tasting party last night and my "bff" and I decided to make a couple of types of fondue. This went over really well, except that we scrapped the milk and used beer instead. Delicious Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States