Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
YUM!!! Happy New Years Eve tradition! :-) Just as it is. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dc3boys
Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Always a good idea to read the reviews BEFORE making the recipe! I followed the recipe and got a texture that was not smooth and I am sure I would have liked the beer substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great fondue! It's easy to make. We use this for nachos or just dipping cooked broccoli, carrots, and bread into. It makes a lot and doesn't heat up very well because it separates so we make a batch just big enough for us to eat right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe is basic and beautiful. It is also infinitely adjustable to taste using white wine, beer, cream, etc. You can use any mixture of cheeses in place of the cheddar. You can also substitute cornstarch for the flour. Or tapioca starch if you have wheat or corn allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love this cheese fondue recipe. I like that it doesn't require alcohol. We eat it with sliced apples, baby carrots and homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Came across this recipe by googling "simple fondue". This was a project for my 14 year old's French Class. I was encouraged by the reviews that stated that it would reheat well and it did! Made the night before, refrigerated and sent it in to school with him. I got 3 text messages from him that said "everyone loves it", then "my class is hovering around it" then "the bread is gone." So, it's a hit with the middle school set. I gave it 3 stars because I believe that either the mustard or the worcestershire sauce was causing the milk to curdle. On the 2nd try, I did not stir in the mustard, worcestershire or garlic until the milk and flour had almost come to a boil. Then I pulled it off the heat and added those ingredients before the cheese. Worked fine that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Thanks for sharing the fondue recipe. Most have some form of alcohol and glad to find one that doesn't. Can't wait to try it with me new Velata fondue warmer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
used 1 can of bud light in place of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Fondue purists will hate me, but I read this all milk recipe and immediately though - mac n' cheese. It added 1 extra clove of garlic and mixed the fondue into cooked pasta and it was delicious. One thing to note, if you use pre-shredded cheese, you may need to cut back on the flour slightly since it already has a little flour on it to keep it from sticking together. The fondue tasted great, but a little on the thick side. I'll try this again with beer as other suggested, and I'll even use it the way it was intended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Made this fondue for a girls night - everyone loved it! I used the suggested modification of decreasing the milk and adding beer. I had a lot left over and made it into a yummy breakfast casserole for the next morning. To make the breakfast casserole I melted the left over fondue, added more milk, eggs, and browned sausage, then poured it over sourdough bread cubes (also left over from my party). I refrigerated the casserole over night, then topped with shredded cheddar cheese and baked at 350 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States