Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I use a similar recipe that always comes out perfect. Instead of milk, I use beer, and I use half cheddar cheese and half swiss. I have never used flour, but I may try it sometime. We dip bread cubes, chicken apple sausage, raw califlower and apples. My husband requests this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I used 4 cups of cheese and about an extra cup of milk it was still stringy. My family thought it was good, and it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Totally easy, this is my new starter fondue recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
It was a good fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creating Beauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Substituted the milk with beer, and this was by far the easiest and most delicious fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
It was a very good fondue. We added 1/2 c white wine and it made a huge impact on the flavor. We will definitely make this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Big hit! This is what I did.. 1 cup of dark beer ( I used black and tan) and 1 cup of milk. I was so worried after reading other reviews that this wasn't going to turn out but it was great! Will definatly be making again. i served this with carrots, sourdough bread and granny smith apples. Tasted just like The Melting Pot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSDEVA
Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
It tastes like broccoli but I just wanted a plain cheese fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I LOVED this cheese fondue! My boyfriend wasn't very excited about making a "cheddar cheese" fondue as we generally make or order fancier (and pricier)cheese fondues, but we were both pleasantly surprised. We made this with a bottle of kileans irish red beer and plain shredded sharp cheddar. Soooo good. We're making it again for Valentines day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Very good! Most cheese fondues call for such expensive cheese, so this is a nice, cheaper alternative. I use 1/2 milk and 1/2 beer (the darker beer the better!). I also add a bit more Worchestershire sauce because I love the flavor. Good stuff! This recipe does make a lot - I usually halve it and it's more than enough for an appetizer for 4 people, with some leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States