Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Cheddar is notorious for being lumpy when melted, but this worked out really well for my family. I added extra garlic, even though I halved the recipe. I think I'll try fontina cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I was not impressed with this fondue. I wanted something basic but creamy. It came out grainy and not smooth. My husband told me to just toss the leftovers, a first for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I didn't think it tasted that great, It was bland, not very thick. I added many spices after the recipe and still didn't have much luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
We halved the recipe and used beer in place of the milk. Added a few extra cloves of garlic and tossed the cheese w/ the flour and then added it to the liquid ingredients. It was fantastic. I did remind me of the Melting Pot's cheddar fondue. I'm definately making it again. We served it w/ bread, green apple and cauliflower. I didn't rate it a 5 because with out substituting beer for the milk this would have been very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
i did not like the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY4MACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
We had this at a party with two other fondues. This one was the least popular, most people thought it was on the bland side. I thought the taste was pretty good, but the consistency was odd. It did not blend or thicken as nicely as the other fondues. Also, it did not coat the "dippers" very well, a little too thin. This fondue did get a little better the longer it was heated. It had to be stirred frequently or the ingredients would start seperating. I probally won't try try this again, because it required to much attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I followed some of the reviews and used beer (a bottle and a half) in place of the milk. We also used a combo of cheddar, colby, jack, and mozzarella cheeses since that's what we had on hand. I think the cheeses we used made it a bit stringy but all in all it was pretty good for our first attempt at fondue. I plan to use this recipe again, following the recipe and using milk and cheddar...I will also half the recipe since it made way too much for our dinner party of four. This is a great recipe with on hand ingredients, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe. We dipped chips, bread, pear, apples, ham, and carrots. It was a great new recipe. Thanks for the suggestion of the beer, I will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe was pretty good, but a little bland. I'm going to try a combo of cheeses next time I make it. I think part of the problem was that I only used sharp cheddar, so it was kind of pungy. Overall, easy recipe, small list of ingred. and a fun new years eve activity. I would make it again, but just doctor the recipe up to my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States