Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is the first and only recipe I'll use for pie crust! Everyone thinks I'm a wonderful pie maker and the secret really is the crust! Double it for a pies requiring a top crust. I've only used Crisco, which for a novice pie maker, required a special trip to the store. I always have butter on hand and I'll have to try that too since many reviewers are swearing it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
so easy and oh so tasty!!!!! I used butter intstead of shortening, got some beautiful pies!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaDar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This crust came out hard for me. Admittedly, I am a novice pie crust maker, but I followed all the instructions...keeping everything cold and not overworking the dough. I don't know what I did wrong??? I did use butter instead of shortening (per some of the reviews), maybe that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betty Dickson
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was a great recipe, but as usual I changed a few things. Instead of shortening, I used 1/4 cup lard chilled and 1/4 cup butter cooled but slightly softened, not room temperature. I never use a food processor or mixer as it tends to make the dough tougher in my experiences. The less you handle the dough the better the crust seems to turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Dickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Perfect for pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Stream, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The flakiest most delicious crust ever! I use more water than is called for. I don't keep track, just keep adding tablespoons until it holds together. I also use all butter and no lard. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddingchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Amazing!!! I've made pie crusts with these ingredients before, but had never thought of cooling the shortening. That is the key to get a flaky crust. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is my go to pie crust! I have tried others, but I think this one is the best. A little tip if u still cant get it flakey. Try chilling all your ingredients the day before you want to make your pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Very flaky and delicious. I had to add extra water to make the dough come together and roll properly. Also, I followed another users suggestion and placed the flour and shortening in the food processor. This was a delicious dough for my sweet potato pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was awesome! I don't know much about pie crust, but I DO know how to screw recipes up, and this was still delicious! I used it to lattice this apple pie recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/apple-pie-by-grandma-ople/#, I didn't have a rolling pin so i used a wine glass and some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States