Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
HELP! I am making a lemon meringue pie, would I bake this pie crust before adding the filling or after?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Wonderful and flakey. I like to brush on 2 tbs of milk and sprinkle on 1/4 cup of sugar. Gives it a lil something extra. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
this was the easiest pie crust I have ever made and the only one.for this being my first time I could not ask for a easier pie crust it just came out of the oven and I have already tasted it and it is a real quality tasting pie crust I am so excited my very first time ever and it turned out great. thanks for a really great pie crust and a tasty one too.this crust was made in the food processor and it was really fast and so easy I would recommend this one for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Perfect, flaky, basic crust that mixes up easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Good recipe it was a little crumbly but I made an apple pie in it and it turned out really well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
51 and just got into the baking thing , pastries that is. Thanks to this recipe I'm going to open the 1st pie shop in Costa Rica. You're all invited for a free slice! Thank you, George
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Oh my gosh! I forgot to review this wonderful recipe every time I used it, and I'm finally going to do it. The first time I tried making the crust, I was confused about how to to go about the directions. Until I learned that this was best made using about two tablespoons of sugar, mixed in with the flour and salt of course, and smashing the shortening into the mixture. I find it a little easier to use lukewarm water instead of ice water, it helps the chilled shortening to soften up. Add a little more flour if the mix starts to get stuck to your hands, or whatever you're using. The overall taste of the crust is amazing, and I use it in all of my pies now! It's amazingly better, and cheaper than store-bought. The texture is exactly as the title says: Flaky. If you want a better taste, try using butter-flavored shortening. Oh, and a very good hint is to sandwich the dough between wax paper(it's almost necessary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
excellent. I always use this recipe & get great results everytime. Sometimes I don't even chill it before rolling & it still works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is splendidly, wonderfully, tastily, beautifully, amazingly, perfectly perfect!!!!!! I have never ever found a better pie crust recipe! Best pie crust yet! You'll feel like a pro making this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I found that this was difficult to work with but will try rolling out using wax paper per other's suggestions. The end result was a flaky and tasty crust. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States