Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is a fantastic crust recipe! I've made it several times and now it's my go-to crust recipe. It's perfect as is for savory pies and I like to add a tablespoon or two of sugar for sweet pies. I usually use butter instead of shortening because that's what I keep on hand and it still turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used butter instead of shortening, put filling in and baked it at 400 for 10 mins, then at 350 for 50 mins. I used it for pecan, pumpkin and apple pie, it came out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have been using this recipe for the past 3 years when I take pies to Thanksgiving/Christmas dinners at Dad & Mom's. My mom, who is an awesome cook, actually asked me for this recipe this week, after telling an old friend what perfect pie crust I make. :) Also, I appreciate how well this recipe quadruples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
WOW! Simple & tasty!!! I've never made pie before but we recently went apple picking & my family wanted homemade apple pie. I couldn't believe how simple this crust was! I used butter instead of shortening (I never use shortening 'cuz it looks gross, like something that came out of a clogged artery [and probably would some day]!). DOUBLE FOR 1 PIE IF YOU WANT TOP LAYER! To double add: 2 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 teas salt, 1 cup chilled butter and 1/4 cup AND 2 tbs ice water (based on GingerB's 9/03 rating). This one is a keeper for me! I'm not much of a sweet eater so I'd love to try it with a homemade pot pie too. :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Finally...a sure thing. It helped to watch the video on how to make pie crust as to the amount of water to add to the pie crust. I double the recipe to make enough for top and bottom crust. Works perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Delicious, flaky, extremely easy to make, I recommend making a double amount for a standard pie, if you don't want it to be too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Will use as a basic pie crust recipe. Changes: Use vinegar instead of water. Chill everything (except flour, but it could be chilled as well), including bowl. Instead of shortening I used margarine for a savory crust. Use butter or shortening for a sweet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is the best pie crust recipe ever. I doubled for an apple pie and it came out flaky. I used butter instead of Crisco and the flavor is amazing. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
HELP! I am making a lemon meringue pie, would I bake this pie crust before adding the filling or after?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Wonderful and flakey. I like to brush on 2 tbs of milk and sprinkle on 1/4 cup of sugar. Gives it a lil something extra. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States