Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe is great. I have made it several times and everybody always compliments on it. I use it for savory pies, mostly pot pie and quiche. I've never chilled the shortening and it has always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is the recipe I have used for 29 years with two exceptions. First, I was taught by a Russian baker to use lard. Yep, lard. You will not believe how much more flake and tender the crust is than with butter or shortening. That said use the product you like and you will still have a winning pie crust. Second exception, work shortening, butter or lard into flour until pea size balls form. Refrigerate 2 hours and then add ice water before rolling out. It will be a breeze to work with. This increases your flakiness. If you inadvertently used too much flour, as this recipe is not in weight but cup measurement and that can happen all too easy. RELAX and add a drop or two more water until it forms a nice ball that sticks together easy. Not a wet, dripping ball but a ball of pliable dough. Roll out on a lightly floured surface. The colder the dough- the flakier the crust and the ease of the roll out. I no longer use measurement but eye ball the the product. Enough fat in the flour will give you pea size balls and enough water will give you a ball of pliable dough. For you first timers, go on- be fearless and experiment with your technique. You'll be making award winning crust too in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I was extremely disappointed with the end result. This was my first attempt at a flaky pie crust, so there's a chance the fault lies with me. I used plain Crisco shortening, if that makes a difference. I had problems rolling it out, so I might have overworked the dough. The best result was obtained on the top, where I painted on an egg-white glaze. There the crust actually WAS flaky, tender, and flavorful. This is the first recipe on this site that has disappointed, but again my technique may be to blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This dough was too crumbly. I did what another review suggested to add a little more water. It was still too crumby and very hard to roll. I think ill go back to my usual pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Good basic pie crust. Easy to make and tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I have used this recipe for my pie for 6 years now. recently my father who bakes came to town and ate my pie and couldn't stop talking about how great this crust was. He made me give him the recipe and he has been making many pies with it. definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This makes a nice flaky pie crust, however you may need to increase the liquid just a smidgeon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
so easy yet soooo good! i followed some reviewers and used butter instead of shortening... i am amazed at how good it tastes... thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States