Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I had never made a pie crust because it seemed like way too much work, but this is beyond easy!! I used cold butter instead of shortening, but it was still absolutely perfect. My blueberry pie was so delicious no one guessed I was an amateur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I have to tell you that I have NEVER made a piecrust without difficulty...until this one. Four ingredients in the food processor, pulse a bit, and you're done. This pie crust was so easy to work with, and I ended up with a flaky and tender crust. I'd give this 10 stars if possible, it was perfect, and is now my go-to pie crust recipe. Thank you, thank you, stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Nice taste, but TERRIBLY crumbly. Impossible to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Taste is great. Made it for a chicken and mushroom pie. One word of caution: I did it according to recipe to 'fill it and bake'. Not the best advice. While the upper pastry is cooked, the bottom part remained uncooked even after I returned it to the oven. I will pre-bake the bottom part next time before adding the filling. One star shaved off for the uncooked bottom part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
So I was disappointed in this recipe after all the reviews it received. My pastry dough was extremely hard to roll our and kept breaking off. The taste was very bland. Dont think I will try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
It came out powdery. I even added about a table spoon extra of water. It did not form a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very simple and came out fantastic. I used butter because I didn't have shortening. Thanks! 10/11/14: Made this today using 1/2 cup oat flour and 3/4 cup white, and 1/3 cup butter to make it a little healthier, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe is great. I have made it several times and everybody always compliments on it. I use it for savory pies, mostly pot pie and quiche. I've never chilled the shortening and it has always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States