Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
I thought this crust recipe was exactly what it states. It was light and flaky, which was great with a homemade sweet potato pie. (It is also important to add about a 1/4 cup flour to work dough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
I have been searching for an easy and good pie crust recipe and this is it. It is so good and flaky. Everyone in my family loved it. We are adding it to our recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
I love this recipe! It is so easy and never fail. My four year old loved to help me make it, but even better to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
I had never made a pie before and was surprised at how quick and easy this recipe was to make. It also tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This pie crust is so simple and delicious. I use it on ALL my pie recipes. Flaky and sturdy enough to hold any filling. I suggest chilling in freezer for an hour. My recipe is always better when I chill for a long time...even better overnight! Make sure to double recipe for lattice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This recipe was Great! Even though the ingredients looks the same as other recipes I've used. I took the advice of chilling the shortening and then chilling the dough it turn out Great. My children even ate it. They usually eat the fillings in pies and leave the crust but this time they didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Very Easy and Tastes Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
My girlfriend (Rose) and I have used your web site for dozens of recipes since we first found it! I always rate my recipes - she never does !! Anyway, she made this pie crust (the first time she's had success with pie crusts)....she made a peach pie during the summer. Her husband, who critiques all her recipes, said it was the best pie she has ever made in her life......! Now, I'll have to try it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Very good recipe; the crust is as flaky as it promises to be. I doubled the recipe for a lattice top as well, but needed to add 1/3 cup more water to make the dough ball-able. I froze the dough for a little over an hour, and although it cracked a bit while rolling, it turned out very managable and sturdy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This was the easiest and best pie dough I've made. I used non-hydrogenated shortening (from Spectrum). It worked just as good as regular shortening and is better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States