Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by looneyonthepath
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was a great recipe, but as usual I changed a few things. Instead of shortening, I used 1/4 cup lard chilled and 1/4 cup butter cooled but slightly softened, not room temperature. I never use a food processor or mixer as it tends to make the dough tougher in my experiences. The less you handle the dough the better the crust seems to turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by looneyonthepath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Perfect for pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Stream, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The flakiest most delicious crust ever! I use more water than is called for. I don't keep track, just keep adding tablespoons until it holds together. I also use all butter and no lard. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddingchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Amazing!!! I've made pie crusts with these ingredients before, but had never thought of cooling the shortening. That is the key to get a flaky crust. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is my go to pie crust! I have tried others, but I think this one is the best. A little tip if u still cant get it flakey. Try chilling all your ingredients the day before you want to make your pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Very flaky and delicious. I had to add extra water to make the dough come together and roll properly. Also, I followed another users suggestion and placed the flour and shortening in the food processor. This was a delicious dough for my sweet potato pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was awesome! I don't know much about pie crust, but I DO know how to screw recipes up, and this was still delicious! I used it to lattice this apple pie recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/apple-pie-by-grandma-ople/#, I didn't have a rolling pin so i used a wine glass and some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blondie
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Awesome - this was my very first pie crust EVER (not even a store bought one in my past) and it was easy as can be! I used the recipe for a crust for homemade pot pies and it's really to die for! It's so flaky I can't believe that *I* made it myself!!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is the same exact recipe my grandmother used and for years she won 1st place in our county fair bake off! LOVE IT! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is one of the best and easiest I've ever tried. This gives my grandmother's recipe a run for its money, no doubt. I add 1 tbsp raw sugar just because I prefer a slightly sweet crust. I also roll out between two pieces of waxed paper or cling wrap. Makes transfer easy and clean-up a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States