Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
The is the BEST pie crust recipe ever!! Super simple and ultra-delicious ;) ..I will use this recipe every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Love this recipe!!! Turns out so flaky, I always get so many request for the recipe. I always use butter,I always just put some water in a glass then put it in the freezer with ice cubes in it and use as much as I need, I skip the 30 min fridge time and just roll between wax paper and turns out perfect!! When im making a double pie crust I always make one at a time...turns out better IMO and I dont have to eyeball it when splitting it up...that way I know its exact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This looks like a great recipe, one my husband really wanted to try. We don't doubt the many folks who made this recipe with great success, but we did not have success, even after trying it twice. We have come to the conclusion that living in high altitude, along with the fact that this is our dry season, is what is causing my husband to have so much trouble with pie crusts this time of year. They just turn into crumbly balls, and you cannot work with them. It seems when he makes them in summer, which is rare, he doesn't have the troubles he does in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeisLord

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I first made this a few years ago. It was my first ever attempt at a pie crust and it was wonderful. I have made this lots of times since and it has not let me down once. I will say that I did make one small chance. Instead of all shortening I do half butter half shortening. I want to say that it comes out to be 4 Tlbs each but don't quote me on that. Perfect pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have finally found a pie crust recipe that makes a wonderful flaky crust. Came out perfect both time I made it. This will be my choice from now on. Thank you so mych for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I am not a pie maker, but I love pie! This is the best crust I have ever eaten. This was so easy I will be making pies often. I don't think there is any way for this not to be the best crust ever. My husband who hates pie crust even gave it a go and said it was buttery, flaky and absolutely perfect. Said it would be the only pie crust he will ever eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Best crust ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeInvestigator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is the first and only recipe I'll use for pie crust! Everyone thinks I'm a wonderful pie maker and the secret really is the crust! Double it for a pies requiring a top crust. I've only used Crisco, which for a novice pie maker, required a special trip to the store. I always have butter on hand and I'll have to try that too since many reviewers are swearing it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
so easy and oh so tasty!!!!! I used butter intstead of shortening, got some beautiful pies!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaDar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This crust came out hard for me. Admittedly, I am a novice pie crust maker, but I followed all the instructions...keeping everything cold and not overworking the dough. I don't know what I did wrong??? I did use butter instead of shortening (per some of the reviews), maybe that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States