Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is splendidly, wonderfully, tastily, beautifully, amazingly, perfectly perfect!!!!!! I have never ever found a better pie crust recipe! Best pie crust yet! You'll feel like a pro making this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I found that this was difficult to work with but will try rolling out using wax paper per other's suggestions. The end result was a flaky and tasty crust. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It would have been way too wet if I had used all the water. Used ice water as other people had suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
adding 1/8 cup cake flour and 1/8t baking powder improves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I doubled the recipe because I was making a pot pie - it seemed to make way more than I needed. It also was quite greasy, when I went to roll it out I added a lot of flour because it was so soft (even after sitting in the fridge for 24+ hours). I admit the shortening was super cold, but my mom doesn't chill her shortening at all. I did use butter flavored crisco & the actual taste of the dough was good. I just think maybe it didn't need as much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This recipe is PERFECT!! Light and buttery crust is your reward. Didn't change a thing! Was worried that it did not say to pre-bake the pastry shell, thought the dough underneath would be soggy because of the filling but in fact it was perfect! I made extra dough for the lattice crust. Everyone had second helpings :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bela82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: Zwiesel, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Who knew making homemade pie crusts was so easy?!! I've always been intimidated to try it and decided to give it a go this past Thanksgiving. It was so easy and quick to make!! What makes it even better is that I already usually have these ingredients on hand! It was a little tricky rolling it out but, just sprinkle enough flour on your surface and you'll get it. I also rolled mine out between two pieces of wax paper as someone else suggested. I will be making my own pie crusts from now on. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is no fail. I always have to add more water than it calls for though. Sometimes I just use all unsalted butter which works great too. I have no problem halving this recipe if I only need one crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Cleary
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very good pie crust! Exceptionally flaky! Will be my new basic recipe for pie dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Ging

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Already repeated this one. Great simple recipe. Flakiest crust ever. I have subbed part butter for some of the shortening to add a bit of flavor as well. Stands up to alterations and is very easy to handle and roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States