Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
WOW! Simple & tasty!!! I've never made pie before but we recently went apple picking & my family wanted homemade apple pie. I couldn't believe how simple this crust was! I used butter instead of shortening (I never use shortening 'cuz it looks gross, like something that came out of a clogged artery [and probably would some day]!). DOUBLE FOR 1 PIE IF YOU WANT TOP LAYER! To double add: 2 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 teas salt, 1 cup chilled butter and 1/4 cup AND 2 tbs ice water (based on GingerB's 9/03 rating). This one is a keeper for me! I'm not much of a sweet eater so I'd love to try it with a homemade pot pie too. :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Finally...a sure thing. It helped to watch the video on how to make pie crust as to the amount of water to add to the pie crust. I double the recipe to make enough for top and bottom crust. Works perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Delicious, flaky, extremely easy to make, I recommend making a double amount for a standard pie, if you don't want it to be too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Will use as a basic pie crust recipe. Changes: Use vinegar instead of water. Chill everything (except flour, but it could be chilled as well), including bowl. Instead of shortening I used margarine for a savory crust. Use butter or shortening for a sweet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by james rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is the best pie crust recipe ever. I doubled for an apple pie and it came out flaky. I used butter instead of Crisco and the flavor is amazing. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
HELP! I am making a lemon meringue pie, would I bake this pie crust before adding the filling or after?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Wonderful and flakey. I like to brush on 2 tbs of milk and sprinkle on 1/4 cup of sugar. Gives it a lil something extra. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
this was the easiest pie crust I have ever made and the only one.for this being my first time I could not ask for a easier pie crust it just came out of the oven and I have already tasted it and it is a real quality tasting pie crust I am so excited my very first time ever and it turned out great. thanks for a really great pie crust and a tasty one too.this crust was made in the food processor and it was really fast and so easy I would recommend this one for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Perfect, flaky, basic crust that mixes up easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Good recipe it was a little crumbly but I made an apple pie in it and it turned out really well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States