Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made this today,doubled it for a two crust pie. This was my first perfect pie crust, it was a dream to work. I used all butter, super cold. This was the first pie dough I made that was actually flaky! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
When i was making pumpkin pie yesterday... i had no shortening so i used butter instead (my mom told me that the goverment is taking away shortening so i just used butter) best recipe ever!!! i prefer butter instead of shortening because it has less fat and it makes it soooooooooo much more tasty!!! this recipe goes so well with Chef Johns pumpkin pie recipe! You should check out his recipe he has ALL 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Fantastic crust recipe. I used this for my very first pie crust and have no reason to look for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is a fantastic crust recipe! I've made it several times and now it's my go-to crust recipe. It's perfect as is for savory pies and I like to add a tablespoon or two of sugar for sweet pies. I usually use butter instead of shortening because that's what I keep on hand and it still turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used butter instead of shortening, put filling in and baked it at 400 for 10 mins, then at 350 for 50 mins. I used it for pecan, pumpkin and apple pie, it came out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have been using this recipe for the past 3 years when I take pies to Thanksgiving/Christmas dinners at Dad & Mom's. My mom, who is an awesome cook, actually asked me for this recipe this week, after telling an old friend what perfect pie crust I make. :) Also, I appreciate how well this recipe quadruples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
WOW! Simple & tasty!!! I've never made pie before but we recently went apple picking & my family wanted homemade apple pie. I couldn't believe how simple this crust was! I used butter instead of shortening (I never use shortening 'cuz it looks gross, like something that came out of a clogged artery [and probably would some day]!). DOUBLE FOR 1 PIE IF YOU WANT TOP LAYER! To double add: 2 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 teas salt, 1 cup chilled butter and 1/4 cup AND 2 tbs ice water (based on GingerB's 9/03 rating). This one is a keeper for me! I'm not much of a sweet eater so I'd love to try it with a homemade pot pie too. :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Finally...a sure thing. It helped to watch the video on how to make pie crust as to the amount of water to add to the pie crust. I double the recipe to make enough for top and bottom crust. Works perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Delicious, flaky, extremely easy to make, I recommend making a double amount for a standard pie, if you don't want it to be too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Will use as a basic pie crust recipe. Changes: Use vinegar instead of water. Chill everything (except flour, but it could be chilled as well), including bowl. Instead of shortening I used margarine for a savory crust. Use butter or shortening for a sweet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States