Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Wonderful recipe, used unsalted butter, smells yummy!! Will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ono Kine Grinz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nanakuli, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
very simple and easy, one tip is to freeze your cubed butter and work quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is a fantastic crust. I've started using unsalted butter but shorting worked well too. I have also subbed a half cup of flour with whole wheat for a chicken pot pie and it was excellent. Made apple berry pie with this and making a pumpkin tomorrow. Love this crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Does not get any better. Easy to make and work with. Light, crispy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I used my food processor to mix all the ingredients. I also addes a little sugar to sweeten up the dough when I make a dessert pie. My husband loves this pie crust and even chose it over his mom's...and in the South, that's a big deal! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Easy, flaky and delicious! I took the suggestion from another review and put the flour, salt and butter (not shortening) in my food processor to quickly mix it, then I dumped it in a bowl and added the ice water. I rolled the dough between two sheets of parchment paper, what a breeze! This was the best pie crust I ever made! The pie was devoured within minutes! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I LIKED THIS PIE CRUST I NEEDED SOMETHING QUICK TO FINISH UP MY APPLE PIE! I DID USE BUTTER JUST WHAT I HAD ON HAND IT TURNED OUT NICE AND BUTTERY NOT AS FLAKY AS I HAD HOPED BUT MY FAULT USING BUTTER AND NOT SHORTING I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Best pie crust EVER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have never made my own pie crust. I always buy the pre-made which has always worked well for me. But today I was to lazy to go to the store. I found this "basic flaky pie crust". The only thing I changed was I used butter, my shortening was a tadd old. The crust was flaky and very good, even turned a nice golden color. I amazed myself! Thank you who ever shared this. Fast, easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Algonac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made this today,doubled it for a two crust pie. This was my first perfect pie crust, it was a dream to work. I used all butter, super cold. This was the first pie dough I made that was actually flaky! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States