Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Does not get any better. Easy to make and work with. Light, crispy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I used my food processor to mix all the ingredients. I also addes a little sugar to sweeten up the dough when I make a dessert pie. My husband loves this pie crust and even chose it over his mom's...and in the South, that's a big deal! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Easy, flaky and delicious! I took the suggestion from another review and put the flour, salt and butter (not shortening) in my food processor to quickly mix it, then I dumped it in a bowl and added the ice water. I rolled the dough between two sheets of parchment paper, what a breeze! This was the best pie crust I ever made! The pie was devoured within minutes! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I LIKED THIS PIE CRUST I NEEDED SOMETHING QUICK TO FINISH UP MY APPLE PIE! I DID USE BUTTER JUST WHAT I HAD ON HAND IT TURNED OUT NICE AND BUTTERY NOT AS FLAKY AS I HAD HOPED BUT MY FAULT USING BUTTER AND NOT SHORTING I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Best pie crust EVER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have never made my own pie crust. I always buy the pre-made which has always worked well for me. But today I was to lazy to go to the store. I found this "basic flaky pie crust". The only thing I changed was I used butter, my shortening was a tadd old. The crust was flaky and very good, even turned a nice golden color. I amazed myself! Thank you who ever shared this. Fast, easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Algonac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made this today,doubled it for a two crust pie. This was my first perfect pie crust, it was a dream to work. I used all butter, super cold. This was the first pie dough I made that was actually flaky! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
When i was making pumpkin pie yesterday... i had no shortening so i used butter instead (my mom told me that the goverment is taking away shortening so i just used butter) best recipe ever!!! i prefer butter instead of shortening because it has less fat and it makes it soooooooooo much more tasty!!! this recipe goes so well with Chef Johns pumpkin pie recipe! You should check out his recipe he has ALL 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Fantastic crust recipe. I used this for my very first pie crust and have no reason to look for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is a fantastic crust recipe! I've made it several times and now it's my go-to crust recipe. It's perfect as is for savory pies and I like to add a tablespoon or two of sugar for sweet pies. I usually use butter instead of shortening because that's what I keep on hand and it still turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States