Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Maybe I overmixed my dough, but I didn't get a flaky pie crust. :-( The flavor was great, but it was solid all the way through, not flaky like many of the reviews led me to believe. Still, this beats the pants off of store bought pie crust. I'll make it again, and try a different mixing technique to achieve the coveted flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chattyabbey
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Great and simple recipe. I didn't change anything, but I did double up the recipe to make both the shell and the covering for the pie. You really only need to roll out the dough nicely for the top - if you're only doing a shell, nobody is going to see it and you can just press the dough into the pie dish. I baked the shell about 15 minutes at 350 before filling it, so it would harden up a bit and I could put my filling in. I did dab some milk on the covering also. It took quite a while to brown at 350, but it was absolutely delicious anyway. I did use half butter and half shortening and I may have gone with all butter next time, as I imagine it would taste even better. I didn't chill the dough, either. I used it to make a thanksgiving-leftovers pie, and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Freetown, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Easy, flaky, yummy. Worked great for my homemade chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChattTraveler
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I have used the same recipe for baking pies for over 35 years. I never have complaints. It is easily adaptable for all types of fillings, and the recipe can be doubled without problems. I prefer pastry cloths for rolling. I occasionally use butter in place of butter-flavored Crisco, with the same good results. Chilled ingredients do help.This is a good, dependable recipe for beginners and beyond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was my first homemade crust. Had to add another tbs of water when putting it into a ball. Worked absolutely perfect for my pumpkin pie. I will never buy a crust again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is aweful!!! I had nothing but problems. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I was nervous about making pies because the crust is sooo bad if tough... they turned out perfect! :) Better than my Gram's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMisic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I seldom make pies. This crust was wonderful. I used part butter/butter flavored shortening. Made a double recipe. Flaky and tender. No need to try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
great basic crust, i use it all the time. As is for savory things and with a little sugar for sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I'm struggling with the rating, as I DID get a really flaky pie crust for my pumpkin pie using this recipe. It was SUPER easy to throw together and rolling it out was a cinch! But, following the recipe and just using shortening resulted in a rather flavorless pie crust... I'll try again with half butter next time, as I think that will help tremendously. And I also found that it would've been nice to have it make a little more dough... to do nice, pretty edges, but I found that it was a little short. Again, I'll give it another shot before I give up because it really was wonderfully tender and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States