Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
perfect crust every time! simply and perfectly flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is my go to pie crust recipe, turns out flaky and I am not a great pie crust maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I love this crust! I am not an expert baker but this recipe makes me look like I am! I have used it for fruit pies, pot pies (chicken and turkey). I tripled the recipe and got enough for three full pies. I basically took the butter right out the fridge, cut it into tablespoon portions, put the flour and salt in my food processor 1st and pulsed a few times to combine. Then I dropped in the chunks of butter and pulsed until I got a coarse crumb. Drizzled in the water by the tablespoon and VOILA! Dumped out the mixture on to a cutting board and gently formed a ball and chilled for 1/2 hour. Other reviews I read here said they didn't chill so I tried it with the next batch. Worked beautifully! I put the dough between two sheets of cling wrap and rolled out in record time! Thanks so much for this great recipe, Stephanie!`
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
definitely flaky and very good!! i used 1/2 cup butter instead of the shortening. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Super easy, tastes great with pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Super flaky crust! Next time I'll try butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheliped

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I made this exactly according to the recipe and it was amazingly flaky and easy to work with. The only problem is that it tasted very much of shortening (meh) and I used butter-flavored shortening. So next time I might try it with actual butter and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Maybe I overmixed my dough, but I didn't get a flaky pie crust. :-( The flavor was great, but it was solid all the way through, not flaky like many of the reviews led me to believe. Still, this beats the pants off of store bought pie crust. I'll make it again, and try a different mixing technique to achieve the coveted flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chattyabbey
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Great and simple recipe. I didn't change anything, but I did double up the recipe to make both the shell and the covering for the pie. You really only need to roll out the dough nicely for the top - if you're only doing a shell, nobody is going to see it and you can just press the dough into the pie dish. I baked the shell about 15 minutes at 350 before filling it, so it would harden up a bit and I could put my filling in. I did dab some milk on the covering also. It took quite a while to brown at 350, but it was absolutely delicious anyway. I did use half butter and half shortening and I may have gone with all butter next time, as I imagine it would taste even better. I didn't chill the dough, either. I used it to make a thanksgiving-leftovers pie, and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Freetown, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Easy, flaky, yummy. Worked great for my homemade chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States