Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This recipe is very simple and makes one of the best crusts I've had. (It's supplanted my recipe that uses vinegar; this dough is easier to work than dough that contains vinegar, and has a better flavor, in my opinion.) For an even flakier crust, I put my crust in the freezer for 20 minutes or so after it's in the pie plate. I also use ice cold water for a very flaky crust. The recipe has just the right amount of water (if you use more, you might end up with a shrinking crust). The dough will form a crumbly ball, but if you use plastic wrap, form it into a ball, and put it in the fridge, you'll be able to work it into a crust easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Delish, wouldn't change a thing. This is a very nice, flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have never had any luck making pie crust....until this one! I used not only the recipe, but most of the hints in the other reviews. I did use butter instead of shortening, because i have had gastric by pass surgery and I find butter works better for me. I used this for a peach pie, I DID prebake the crust for a few minutes, but it shrank a touch. I think that was because I only use bread flour...I patched it up and then filled it. It looks wonderful, I credit the hint for rolling the crust between two sheets of cling wrap for that. Very happy with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is the same recipe I've been using my whole life. It's even pre-printed in the front cover of my cookbook. When rolling out, I use plastic wrap, rather than waxed paper, as I find it easier to work with and not prone to tearing. I also fold and store the plastic in my freezer between times; I find it even easier to use when the 2nd or 3rd time around! For my large double-crust pies, I put two approx. 15" lengths of plastic wrap on the counter, overlapping them an inch, to give a bigger work area. I then put the crust, then two more lengths, turning so the "seam" is perpendicular to the one on the bottom. It's much easier to turn over and around when rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
OUtstanding! First pie crust I attempted and it was perfect. I did use butter as one of the other reviewers did. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
The first pie crust I've ever made and it was unreal! This is fantastic! You just have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Excellent! Because I'm lazy to roll out the dough, I press it directly into the pan, but be sure to press it in really thin to get a good result. I also blind bake it for a bout 15 minutes at around 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Flavor okay but not delish like some crusts and really struggled to work with it. Ended up freezing most of it to use in tarts and such...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Love this recipe. I was always using butter as opposed to shortening and the crust always seemed tougher. I am not one to over mix either so it was somwhhat frustrating. I use this recipe now whenever I make a pie, it comes out perfect each time an people say my crusts are excellent..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rottie_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Union, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
perfect crust every time! simply and perfectly flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States