Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was wonderful! I used salted butter instead of the shortening and salt. I just pressed it in the pan for the bottom. Everyone loved it....even my daughter who usually won't touch pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Used butter instead of shortening. Crust turned out flaky and delicious! Family agreed that the crust was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is the first crust I have ever tried to make. Mom always led me to believe they were too much trouble. With things the way they are, I can't buy one, so I gave it a try. Used it in a chocolate cream pie. Not only was it fairly simple to make, it came out amazing. Crisp, flakey, delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. I like to consider myself a good to very good cook, however I've never been able to make a good pastry crust. I've made this one twice and was successful both times!!! (kinda wondered if the first time was just a fluke haha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very easy recipe. This was my first attempt at home made pie crust. It turned out fine. However, was slightly confused regarding adding water a few drops..."until the dough comes together" I did not add enough water so dough difficult to roll out. Overall the end product was good. I'm assuming the "comes together" means it should form a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raynebow1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
What a perfect pie crust! So easy and flaky! I don't have a pastry blender so I used my fingers instead. Just combine the shortening (I used margarine) and the flour/salt mixture slowly with the tip of your fingers or fork, do it gently until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Remember, don't overdo it or your dough will become to greasy. I used metric measurement for better accuracy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.mcguinness

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Used this crust for Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie. Added 1 tbs sugar to give the crust some flavor. Ended up adding around 4 tbs ice water to get the dough into a ball. Make sure you add enough water so it won't crumble when rolling out. After wrapping with plastic, gently squeeze everything together. I rolled the dough between a sheet of wax paper and a piece of plastic wrap and didn't have problems at all. Perfectly flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Perfect crust! Have used for everything from quiche to chocolate chip pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I've tried every recipe out there for pie crust, even using butter and lard, the vinegar recipes, EVERYTHING, but I never could get a flaky crust. So I tried this recipe as it was very simple and sounded good. It is absolutely FANTASTIC! I put my shortening (margerine) and my rolling pin in the freezer for about an hour before making the crust. And I tried not to handle the dough too much once I got it together in a ball. This will be my pie crust recipe from now on, whether it's fruit pies, custards, chicken pot pie, whatever. This is IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a staple at my house. I use it for apple pies and also for chicken pot pie. It comes out flaky every time. Make sure you chill the shortening and dough as directed for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States