Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. I like to consider myself a good to very good cook, however I've never been able to make a good pastry crust. I've made this one twice and was successful both times!!! (kinda wondered if the first time was just a fluke haha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very easy recipe. This was my first attempt at home made pie crust. It turned out fine. However, was slightly confused regarding adding water a few drops..."until the dough comes together" I did not add enough water so dough difficult to roll out. Overall the end product was good. I'm assuming the "comes together" means it should form a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raynebow1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
What a perfect pie crust! So easy and flaky! I don't have a pastry blender so I used my fingers instead. Just combine the shortening (I used margarine) and the flour/salt mixture slowly with the tip of your fingers or fork, do it gently until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Remember, don't overdo it or your dough will become to greasy. I used metric measurement for better accuracy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.mcguinness

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Used this crust for Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie. Added 1 tbs sugar to give the crust some flavor. Ended up adding around 4 tbs ice water to get the dough into a ball. Make sure you add enough water so it won't crumble when rolling out. After wrapping with plastic, gently squeeze everything together. I rolled the dough between a sheet of wax paper and a piece of plastic wrap and didn't have problems at all. Perfectly flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Perfect crust! Have used for everything from quiche to chocolate chip pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I've tried every recipe out there for pie crust, even using butter and lard, the vinegar recipes, EVERYTHING, but I never could get a flaky crust. So I tried this recipe as it was very simple and sounded good. It is absolutely FANTASTIC! I put my shortening (margerine) and my rolling pin in the freezer for about an hour before making the crust. And I tried not to handle the dough too much once I got it together in a ball. This will be my pie crust recipe from now on, whether it's fruit pies, custards, chicken pot pie, whatever. This is IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a staple at my house. I use it for apple pies and also for chicken pot pie. It comes out flaky every time. Make sure you chill the shortening and dough as directed for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm a grandma who has been baking pies for as long as I can remember. This was by far the easiest and most flaky crust I've ever made. It held together nicely, rolled out cleanly and best of all was a perfect base for my new favorite French Silk pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
It took me forever to get this made into a pie because it simply wouldn't stay together. Not good. I wont be using this again. I have no idea what went wrong but I followed the original directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This recipe is very simple and makes one of the best crusts I've had. (It's supplanted my recipe that uses vinegar; this dough is easier to work than dough that contains vinegar, and has a better flavor, in my opinion.) For an even flakier crust, I put my crust in the freezer for 20 minutes or so after it's in the pie plate. I also use ice cold water for a very flaky crust. The recipe has just the right amount of water (if you use more, you might end up with a shrinking crust). The dough will form a crumbly ball, but if you use plastic wrap, form it into a ball, and put it in the fridge, you'll be able to work it into a crust easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States