Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I've tried every recipe out there for pie crust, even using butter and lard, the vinegar recipes, EVERYTHING, but I never could get a flaky crust. So I tried this recipe as it was very simple and sounded good. It is absolutely FANTASTIC! I put my shortening (margerine) and my rolling pin in the freezer for about an hour before making the crust. And I tried not to handle the dough too much once I got it together in a ball. This will be my pie crust recipe from now on, whether it's fruit pies, custards, chicken pot pie, whatever. This is IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a staple at my house. I use it for apple pies and also for chicken pot pie. It comes out flaky every time. Make sure you chill the shortening and dough as directed for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm a grandma who has been baking pies for as long as I can remember. This was by far the easiest and most flaky crust I've ever made. It held together nicely, rolled out cleanly and best of all was a perfect base for my new favorite French Silk pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
It took me forever to get this made into a pie because it simply wouldn't stay together. Not good. I wont be using this again. I have no idea what went wrong but I followed the original directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This recipe is very simple and makes one of the best crusts I've had. (It's supplanted my recipe that uses vinegar; this dough is easier to work than dough that contains vinegar, and has a better flavor, in my opinion.) For an even flakier crust, I put my crust in the freezer for 20 minutes or so after it's in the pie plate. I also use ice cold water for a very flaky crust. The recipe has just the right amount of water (if you use more, you might end up with a shrinking crust). The dough will form a crumbly ball, but if you use plastic wrap, form it into a ball, and put it in the fridge, you'll be able to work it into a crust easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Delish, wouldn't change a thing. This is a very nice, flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have never had any luck making pie crust....until this one! I used not only the recipe, but most of the hints in the other reviews. I did use butter instead of shortening, because i have had gastric by pass surgery and I find butter works better for me. I used this for a peach pie, I DID prebake the crust for a few minutes, but it shrank a touch. I think that was because I only use bread flour...I patched it up and then filled it. It looks wonderful, I credit the hint for rolling the crust between two sheets of cling wrap for that. Very happy with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is the same recipe I've been using my whole life. It's even pre-printed in the front cover of my cookbook. When rolling out, I use plastic wrap, rather than waxed paper, as I find it easier to work with and not prone to tearing. I also fold and store the plastic in my freezer between times; I find it even easier to use when the 2nd or 3rd time around! For my large double-crust pies, I put two approx. 15" lengths of plastic wrap on the counter, overlapping them an inch, to give a bigger work area. I then put the crust, then two more lengths, turning so the "seam" is perpendicular to the one on the bottom. It's much easier to turn over and around when rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
OUtstanding! First pie crust I attempted and it was perfect. I did use butter as one of the other reviewers did. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
The first pie crust I've ever made and it was unreal! This is fantastic! You just have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States