Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Very easy to make! But i hurt my hand cutting in that butter! lol I took the advice of another member and put milk and sugar on the crust before baking to make it sweeter. I will make again soon thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Easy to make and flaky, but kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Great recipe! I used cold butter instead for that butteru taste. I needed more water than 3 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
TERRIBLE! I'd give it less stars but I can't. Have no idea of the taste of this because you can't get past rolling it out. I was in search of a flakier crust. I guess I will go back to my Joy of Baking - Pie Crust recipe. Tried the tricks mentioned by others and no luck! Never mind rolling out a top crust for the pie. I just wasted time and money with this recipe. This is the first time Allrecipes.com has let me down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happykimmyj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was wonderful! I used salted butter instead of the shortening and salt. I just pressed it in the pan for the bottom. Everyone loved it....even my daughter who usually won't touch pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Used butter instead of shortening. Crust turned out flaky and delicious! Family agreed that the crust was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is the first crust I have ever tried to make. Mom always led me to believe they were too much trouble. With things the way they are, I can't buy one, so I gave it a try. Used it in a chocolate cream pie. Not only was it fairly simple to make, it came out amazing. Crisp, flakey, delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. I like to consider myself a good to very good cook, however I've never been able to make a good pastry crust. I've made this one twice and was successful both times!!! (kinda wondered if the first time was just a fluke haha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very easy recipe. This was my first attempt at home made pie crust. It turned out fine. However, was slightly confused regarding adding water a few drops..."until the dough comes together" I did not add enough water so dough difficult to roll out. Overall the end product was good. I'm assuming the "comes together" means it should form a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raynebow1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States