Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I used this recipe tonight for chicken pot pie & it is the best recipe for pie crust that I have come across. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcarter71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This really was a super easy crust to make. And it was my first time making a pie crust (that I used for quiche) so I was really nervous about everything tasting good. All in all, nice and easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanGirl1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great pie crusts! I doubled the recipe for a chicken pot pie and used the tip about using a food processor to cut in butter (which I used because I didn't have shortening). Then poured crumbs into a bowl to add ice water. This worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Not a good crust for fruit pies. I tried it with rhubarb pie but the dough couldn't be rolled out to make a top crust, it just kept falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmadsen3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I have not tried to make my own pie crust for 30+ years. My grandmother diligently tried to teach me using this type of recipe when I was a teen and I was a complete failure. I do great with any other type of baking, but this is something that has always eluded me. Last night my oldest daughter asked me to make my from scratch chicken pot pie, that I usually buy premade crust for. I didn't have time to run to the store and so decided to try my hand at crust again. I gave this recipe 4 stars only because the baking instructions are missing and because, similar to others, I had a lot of trouble rolling out, so some tips for how to make that go smoother would have been nice. It wasn't pretty, but it was delicious. My husband came home late from work and didn't know that I had made the crust. He sat down in the arm chair with his plate to relax and eat his dinner and his first comment was "this crust is sooooo good." I also appreciate the gluten free instructions that the site links to this recipe. My 2nd born has to be GF, so I guess that may be my next attempt! As noted by other reviewers, this is only enough for a large single crust. You need to double the recipe for a double-crust pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
The crust was easy to work with, however, I did not know if it was a one crust recipe or for a two crust pie. I was disappointed when I had to make the recipe again to finish my pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
The best pie crust !!!! I made it so.many times. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Fabulous! Don't change a thing. Be sure to double the recipe if you plan on putting a top on your pie! I used it for strawberry rhubarb, and it was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Very easy to make! But i hurt my hand cutting in that butter! lol I took the advice of another member and put milk and sugar on the crust before baking to make it sweeter. I will make again soon thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Easy to make and flaky, but kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States