Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I am a novice in the kitchen and following this recipe yielded amazing pie. I doubled the recipe, subbed in butter, used the food processor to blend the butter and flour, made sure my ingredients stayed as cold as possible, used probably 5 tablespoons of iced water (very gently mixed in), and baked it in a glass dish at 375 for around 50 minutes. The resulting crust was savory and flaky and a great balance to my sweet pie filling. I got a ton of compliments and a new found sense of baking confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I haven't baked in years, decided to make a pie for father's day. This recipe was really hard to roll out for me, but I am WAY out of practice. I persevered, patched it all together, and baked it. It isn't pretty, but man, is it flaky!! My Mom always said, if it rolls perfectly, and you don't have to do some patching, it's probably not very good pastry, and in this case I can see what she meant. This recipe is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie55

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was absolutely the WORST pie crust I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly but I just ended up with a crumbly tasteless mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This turns out really well, and tastes good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I saved this recipe because I accidentally leave it taped on the back of a cupboard door when ever I move appartments. SOOO I saved it for the measurements EVEN THOUGH I KNOW THE KEY TO A PERFECT PIE CRUST IS subbing out one of those tablespoons of water with vinegar. Just try it once... I dare you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I used this recipe tonight for chicken pot pie & it is the best recipe for pie crust that I have come across. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcarter71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This really was a super easy crust to make. And it was my first time making a pie crust (that I used for quiche) so I was really nervous about everything tasting good. All in all, nice and easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanGirl1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great pie crusts! I doubled the recipe for a chicken pot pie and used the tip about using a food processor to cut in butter (which I used because I didn't have shortening). Then poured crumbs into a bowl to add ice water. This worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Not a good crust for fruit pies. I tried it with rhubarb pie but the dough couldn't be rolled out to make a top crust, it just kept falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmadsen3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I have not tried to make my own pie crust for 30+ years. My grandmother diligently tried to teach me using this type of recipe when I was a teen and I was a complete failure. I do great with any other type of baking, but this is something that has always eluded me. Last night my oldest daughter asked me to make my from scratch chicken pot pie, that I usually buy premade crust for. I didn't have time to run to the store and so decided to try my hand at crust again. I gave this recipe 4 stars only because the baking instructions are missing and because, similar to others, I had a lot of trouble rolling out, so some tips for how to make that go smoother would have been nice. It wasn't pretty, but it was delicious. My husband came home late from work and didn't know that I had made the crust. He sat down in the arm chair with his plate to relax and eat his dinner and his first comment was "this crust is sooooo good." I also appreciate the gluten free instructions that the site links to this recipe. My 2nd born has to be GF, so I guess that may be my next attempt! As noted by other reviewers, this is only enough for a large single crust. You need to double the recipe for a double-crust pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States