Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
my go-to pie crust every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkoeppen315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I've used this recipe several times for quiche, and it always turns out flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Its true! Great dough to work with I used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I did like the flakiness of this pie crust and a true pie crust taste. This recipe def. only makes a small amount. I used it for mini quiches but I would say from the size of the ball formed it would be just good for an 8" pie. I will try to double the next time and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I have to say it is a easy crust to make but i had a hard time rolling it out, i put parment paper under when i rolled it out but it tore apart when putting it into the pan and when baking it spit a little, the crust was not too thin when rolled out but this is my first try with this crust and may use it again but change it alittle, maybe i did not put in enough shortening? not sure, but it was a nice tasting crust and that is all that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I can't believe I finally made a great crust!! Yes!!! Thank you so much for this recipe, not sure what made the difference for me as I've tried a bunch of others. I followed the recipe exactly, although I did double it to make a blueberry pie with lattice top. This is such a fabulous and easy recipe, I think I might make it again in the morning for a quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanei Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I've made crust in the past and gave up because they were always dry and crumbly. This dough is perfect and so simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Roll between saran wrap or parchment paper, or it's a very sticky roll. This will completely eliminate the rolling problem. Take the saran wrapped dough to the dish, balance on hand, take the top saran wrap off after it's in the dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was definitely very flaky, easy to make and roll out, but it really didn't have much flavor :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
So I have NEVER EVER baked a pie crust from scratch. I have always bought it already in the pan and added my own fillings. (yes I know it was cheating! lol). I tried this recipe and it was pretty great. Flaky, manageable. I only came across two problems. It needs more salt. And after looking I will be doubling the Salt. and needed a little bit more flavor. So I will be using Butter or Butter flavored shortening next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States