Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Super simple to make in the food processor and it tasted incredible. I added cinnamon to the dough because I used it to make an apple crisp. I will definitely make this again instead of buying pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
turned out great, I used 2/3 veg shortening and 1/3 butter and kept the door refrigerated until it was rolled out . Really light and flakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Wonderfull recipe. I use Blue Bonnet put the stick in the freezer,and use I cold milk (place milk in freezer)and then follow direction of 1 member to make the pie size of the shorten and flour in the food processor. After the food processor in a stainless steel cold bowl, put the pea size mixture in bowl, and add ice cold milk slowly until mixture was mix. Place dough in side a olive oil greased ziplock bag. Place bag in freezer for 40 minutes.I could see the frozen margarine bits. Roll out dough. Pie crust came out very flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyth Lovy
Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Loved it! I just mixed with my hands. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I cannot believe how easy this recipe was! I hadn't made a pie crust in over a decade, and this came out perfect! I did have the problem of the dough cracking when I rolled it, but I would just patch it as needed. Can't wait to use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe. First time I've made pastry and turned out great. I used frozen butter instead of shortening and grated butter with a box grater (a trick I learned for biscuits).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Terrific. Also great with whole wheat flour-gives the crust a slight texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
How lucky am I? This was my first attempt at a pie crust and I lucked out with the best recipe on the first try. Thank you! This is easy to prepare, and the crust bakes up beautiful and flakey with rave reviews saying it was the best blackberry pie my family had ever had. I used butter flavored shortening, and next time I may experiment with half butter just to get more of a buttery taste. Thank you !! :) No more rolled pre-packaged crusts for me !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lynn Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Wonderful pie crust. The first time I made the crust exactly as listed. This time I used 1 1/2 cups of flour and about 2 table spoons more of shortening and increased the water as needed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
flaky and delicious. I freeze butter flavored shortening ahead of time. yummy. ingredient list is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States