Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was definitely very flaky, easy to make and roll out, but it really didn't have much flavor :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
So I have NEVER EVER baked a pie crust from scratch. I have always bought it already in the pan and added my own fillings. (yes I know it was cheating! lol). I tried this recipe and it was pretty great. Flaky, manageable. I only came across two problems. It needs more salt. And after looking I will be doubling the Salt. and needed a little bit more flavor. So I will be using Butter or Butter flavored shortening next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe. I could not make a crust for anything and was very disappointed in the quality of the pilsbury crust because they keep cracking. So when I came across this one I decided to give it a try. I cannot say how flaky this crust is. I've used it in prebaked pie shells and in pies that go in the oven. I have even frozen the extra crust I've make and it STILL comes out flaky! Such a simple recipe and I have to say that if my grandfather were alive he'd give a rave review. Love this crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Great recipe! Just made this for my very first pie ever and it was perfect. Two things I would note, 1. Chill all ingredients for 1 hour prior to use 2. Make a double batch if you plan to have a full cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was great. I used butter and also used my food processor to mix the flour/salt and butter. Then I added 1 tbsp of water until it became a dough ball, then transferred to a bowl and added the other 2 tbsp. I used it for chicken pot pie. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
My husband has been RAVING about this crust. Best crust he's ever had, he says. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Absolutely perfect pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I have tried several different recipes for pie crust from this site and this is by far the best one yet. It tastes great and is easy to work with. If I am making a fruit pie, I simply double the recipe. So far I have not had any problems. Thanks once again for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peach Bottom, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Quarryville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
this was easy to make, the flakiness was not completely there for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is the best pie crust I have ever baked!!! It beat any frozen crust. It was flaky and the bomb. I followed the recipe exact, except I used pastry flour in place of the all-purpose flour. Anyone that likes flaky crust, this is the recipe for you. TEN STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States