Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Fantastic and simple ingredient crust. I do not think this crust is for a beginner, however, I did read a comment from someone who is a beginner (& it turned out great for him). Just trust the recipe.. it may seem dry, but once you play with it to roll it out, it gets soft. It comes out so flaky and delicious. It is also a vegan recipe, which is a total score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I use this every time I make a pie. Thank you so much for posting! So much better than store bought. Obviously not as easy but much better tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My first time ever making a pie crust, and it didn't fail! Family was pleasantly surprised by how flaky it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Mclain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
great basic dough for pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I never thought that making your own pie crust was this easy. Seriously, I thought people slaved to make this stuff. After making this so many different ways with unsalted butter, salted butter, butter flavored shortening, vegetable shortening, and regular shortening, I would say that the regular shortening and the salted butter won out for me. I interchange them depending on what I have on hand. Also, for anyone who had a "crumbly" crust, just add more water. The two to three tablespoons is really a guideline because it shouldn't crumble when rolling, but don't over do it. A little at a time until it's not dry anymore!! Three tablespoons works for me, but sometimes I think I need four. It worked both times. And make sure your water is ICE cold. Hope this helps you, because this recipe is seriously AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was fantastic I could hardly believe I this was my baking! I can no longer say I cannot make crust.My husband was amazed (He has try'ed my prier attempt's at crust making)!! :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Steward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Super simple to make in the food processor and it tasted incredible. I added cinnamon to the dough because I used it to make an apple crisp. I will definitely make this again instead of buying pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
turned out great, I used 2/3 veg shortening and 1/3 butter and kept the door refrigerated until it was rolled out . Really light and flakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Wonderfull recipe. I use Blue Bonnet put the stick in the freezer,and use I cold milk (place milk in freezer)and then follow direction of 1 member to make the pie size of the shorten and flour in the food processor. After the food processor in a stainless steel cold bowl, put the pea size mixture in bowl, and add ice cold milk slowly until mixture was mix. Place dough in side a olive oil greased ziplock bag. Place bag in freezer for 40 minutes.I could see the frozen margarine bits. Roll out dough. Pie crust came out very flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyth Lovy
Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Loved it! I just mixed with my hands. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States