Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Very flaky and delicious. I had to add extra water to make the dough come together and roll properly. Also, I followed another users suggestion and placed the flour and shortening in the food processor. This was a delicious dough for my sweet potato pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was awesome! I don't know much about pie crust, but I DO know how to screw recipes up, and this was still delicious! I used it to lattice this apple pie recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/apple-pie-by-grandma-ople/#, I didn't have a rolling pin so i used a wine glass and some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blondie
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Awesome - this was my very first pie crust EVER (not even a store bought one in my past) and it was easy as can be! I used the recipe for a crust for homemade pot pies and it's really to die for! It's so flaky I can't believe that *I* made it myself!!! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is the same exact recipe my grandmother used and for years she won 1st place in our county fair bake off! LOVE IT! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is one of the best and easiest I've ever tried. This gives my grandmother's recipe a run for its money, no doubt. I add 1 tbsp raw sugar just because I prefer a slightly sweet crust. I also roll out between two pieces of waxed paper or cling wrap. Makes transfer easy and clean-up a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Easy and delicious. Used directions from kitchen aid recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I have used this pie crust at least 10 times now and it has never let my down. I use it for potpie a lot. I always double the recipe for a double crust and never have any problems. I was wondering if anyone has tried it with wheat flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Fantastic and simple ingredient crust. I do not think this crust is for a beginner, however, I did read a comment from someone who is a beginner (& it turned out great for him). Just trust the recipe.. it may seem dry, but once you play with it to roll it out, it gets soft. It comes out so flaky and delicious. It is also a vegan recipe, which is a total score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I use this every time I make a pie. Thank you so much for posting! So much better than store bought. Obviously not as easy but much better tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My first time ever making a pie crust, and it didn't fail! Family was pleasantly surprised by how flaky it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Mclain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States